Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-17-2009, 05:56 PM
MadCow MadCow is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Using SuperDuper to copy time machine from external hard drive to time capsule

Hi,

I've been using directions to copy my time machine backups from an external firewire drive to my new time capsule that I found here:

http://www.unlikelywords.com/2009/01...-time-capsule/

It's seems like all is well and good so far, however, the 80GB or so of backups I have on my external drive are turning into about 130GB or so of space being taking up on the time capsule by the transfer. I'm wondering what is going on, am I doing something wrong? Thanks!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-17-2009, 06:03 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You're sure you're using v2.5?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-17-2009, 06:08 PM
MadCow MadCow is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Hi Dave,

Thanks for the quick response. I just checked and am using v2.5, just downloaded it yesterday.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-17-2009, 06:14 PM
MadCow MadCow is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
hmmm...

Well, superduper just completed the transfer and the reading of my GB available just jumped by 40GB. I guess everything's okay.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-17-2009, 06:25 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Sounds like it.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-13-2009, 06:57 PM
jbbranning jbbranning is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Moving a Time Machine Backup to a Time Capsule

I also used the instructions found on the Unlikely Words site and copied about 280 MB from an external drive to a Time Capsule. However, I have not been able to backup to the time Capsule. Do I have to do something to the sparse bundle file to get it to work? Or, do I just do it all over again? Thanks.

Jack Branning
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-13-2009, 08:17 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I'm not sure what the question is asking here. Did you get an error?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-13-2009, 10:19 PM
jbbranning jbbranning is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
I got a Time Machine message saying "Backup Failed" and the Time Machine Error message said: "Could not mount volume."

Jack Branning
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-13-2009, 10:23 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Sounds like, perhaps, a corrupted image and/or failed network connection...?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-14-2009, 02:16 PM
jbbranning jbbranning is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks. I guess I'll do it over again.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows equivalent to SuperDuper!? jreffner General 21 08-13-2009 05:36 PM
Big dilemma: data protection with Knox (sparseimages) / back up with SuperDuper! gianfry General 11 10-11-2008 03:59 PM
Migrating from one hard drive to another zestyping General 3 07-25-2008 08:22 AM
Best process to replace internal hard drive using SuperDuper!? emikysa General 26 02-09-2007 05:03 PM
Error: No space left on device tradervic General 11 06-29-2005 04:50 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.