Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-10-2009, 01:22 AM
supermonkey supermonkey is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 14
Why is backing up so slow for a brand new image?

I tried backing up a drive yesterday and it was going slow as molasses. After 6 hours it was still working. I had to cancel the backup because I had some other work to do.

Any ideas why this was taking so long? Its a 120GB drive to a Sparse Image (New Image). Is there a speed difference between "Smart Update" and Erase?, then Copy files option to a new image?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-10-2009, 08:24 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
On a first backup, Smart Update and Erase, then copy will be the same speed. Could your backup drive have been formatted as FAT32 rather than HFS+?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-10-2009, 11:03 AM
supermonkey supermonkey is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
On a first backup, Smart Update and Erase, then copy will be the same speed. Could your backup drive have been formatted as FAT32 rather than HFS+?
The backup drive is actually NTFS.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-10-2009, 11:50 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
How is it being accessed? The Mac cannot natively write to NTFS volumes. Is this over a network?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-10-2009, 01:33 PM
supermonkey supermonkey is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
How is it being accessed? The Mac cannot natively write to NTFS volumes. Is this over a network?
I have MacFuse installed. I guess I can make a partition on the backup drive and format it HFS+. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-10-2009, 01:43 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I think that's likely why things aren't going that quickly. Let me know what happens with the real HFS+ volume (write directly to it, eh?)...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SD not unmounting sparse image volumes acronce General 1 09-14-2008 11:22 AM
Hangs while backing up to network mounted sparse image acronce General 9 09-11-2008 01:25 PM
SuperDuper Backup of AES 128 Encrypted Disk Image rwg4 General 3 11-30-2005 10:28 AM
Sparse image from aborted DMG backup? Winston General 9 10-22-2005 12:28 PM
Question regarding backing up to Image giba General 3 05-20-2005 05:54 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.