Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-09-2009, 02:18 PM
sgmiller sgmiller is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 28
Can I boot MacBook Pro with clone from MacBook?

I need to know if I can boot a new MacBook Pro with a clone from my 2006 MacBook. I don't know if there is some kind of setting of some kind that would prevent that. I need to know for sure because when I have to do it, the MacBook will be across an ocean and I need to have a fully working computer immediately.

thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-09-2009, 02:42 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Directly? Probably not (depending on the version of the OS -- it *should* with 10.5.6, but it's hard to be sure without testing it). But a new MacBook Pro will prompt you to "copy from another Mac", so you can point that at a full backup and it'll bring in your applications and data.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-09-2009, 02:49 PM
sgmiller sgmiller is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 28
Hmmmm...it would be alot cleaner if I could just boot the clone and do all the transfer stuff later but it sounds like a risk even though both machines will be running 10.5.6 right?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-09-2009, 04:18 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You can try, and if it works, great. If not, you'll have to migrate.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows equivalent to SuperDuper!? jreffner General 21 08-13-2009 05:36 PM
New Unibody Macbook Won't Boot Clone ntarantino General 4 12-07-2008 07:54 PM
Can't boot from SuperDuper clone HD. HDH607 General 1 09-10-2008 08:50 AM
MacBook Pro Drive with Boot Camp to boot into Vista scottsdale General 1 06-11-2008 08:09 AM
Unable to boot from clone backup after update tleveque General 1 02-06-2008 12:47 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.