Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-29-2008, 01:48 AM
camner camner is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 152
cloning back from Sandbox

Both for info in a post and from the docs, it seems possible to clone back from the Sandbox, by selecting "Backup - all files" and "Smart Update".

I've been doing this to save time so I don't need to apply all the changes to Macintosh HD that I had applied to the Sandbox.

From time to time, I'd install a new app, and I'd install it to the Macintosh HD Applications folder, and then make an alias to it in the Sandbox's Application folder. To my dismay, when I cloned back from Sandbox to Macintosh HD, what I got were copies of the aliases!

So, do I understand this right about how SD! works when cloning back from a Sandbox using "Backup - all files" and "Smart Update":

1. When SD! encounters the symlinks in the Sandbox Application folder, it does NOT copy the symlinks but leaves the corresponding real app in the Mac HD App folder alone
2. When SD! encounters one of the manually created aliases I created in the Sandbox App folder, it merrily copies the alias, overwriting the corresponding application in the Mac HD folder

Do I have this correct? That seems to be what occurred this evening.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-29-2008, 10:01 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You certainly shouldn't: we will not copy a symlink over a file that the link is pointing to, unless you accidentally used one of the Sandbox scripts.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-29-2008, 10:28 AM
camner camner is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 152
Thanks for your reply. This suggests that my "brilliant" solution for how to handle installs of new apps when running off of the Sandbox was sorely lacking.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-29-2008, 10:51 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Not at all: I do this all the time. Install to the Sandbox and copy back -- but you have to use the right script and copy method or it won't work as you'd expect... that's why there are so many warnings.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-29-2008, 03:36 PM
camner camner is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
Not at all: I do this all the time. Install to the Sandbox and copy back -- but you have to use the right script and copy method or it won't work as you'd expect... that's why there are so many warnings.
Right. But my "brilliant" solution in the past was to install to the Sandbox, copy to Mac HD, and then make a manual alias to the Sandbox. This does NOT work, because I didn't really understand what "cloning back" did. Now I do (or at least I do better...), so I should be installing only to the Sandbox and then cloning back (observing the warnings...including, but not limited to (paraphrasing here...): If you don't want to tempt fate, be sure to BACKUP your main volume before cloning back!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-29-2008, 03:54 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Absolutely correct.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Totally confused about Sandbox CaptSaltyJack General 11 08-22-2008 05:59 PM
Can't copy Sandbox back to hard drive badlydrawnboy General 1 02-20-2008 07:37 PM
Just checking before copying back from Sandbox humanengr General 2 02-17-2008 10:15 PM
A SuperDuper Back Up Strategy Bagelturf General 3 09-09-2007 01:23 PM
Cloning and back up Kevrazz General 1 10-23-2005 07:20 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.