Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-07-2008, 12:27 PM
tuni tuni is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 110
SD backups VmWare, WinXP, Mac OS???

I'm still not sure of the answer to this question and yesterday I had a small disaster with WinXP section on my VmWare but fixed it- my question is:

Does the SD backup include VmWare AND the WInXP which is running on it? Or does it just back up the Mac OS (running Leopard) which includes a VmWare icon on its desktop?

This is really confusing to me....as maybe I don't have any backup to my WinXP (running via VmWare) at all????

Or do I really have it all (everything - Leopard,VmWare & Win XP) covered in the backups I do consistently with both SD & Time Machine on different backup drives?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-07-2008, 12:31 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
If your VMWare data is stored on the same volume -- as a VMWare "disk image" -- and not in a separate "BootCamp" Partition, the data is backed up.

Note, though -- you should not run VMWare while you're backing up. You want its data to be fully written to disk when it's copied.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-07-2008, 01:30 PM
tuni tuni is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 110
Dave,

Let me clarify. My VmWare is not through BootCamp. I don't have to re-boot to get to it. I just click on a VmWare icon which sits on my iMac (Leopard) dock.

When I click on that icon, it brings up Windows XP (and Windows programs) via the VmWare image.

My question is while backing up with SD from my iMac....does it also backup the VmWare section AND Windows XP?

OR is Windows XP and the VmWare image which permits it - excluded from the SD backup????
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-07-2008, 03:30 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I understand. And, as I said, as long as the data is being stored on the same volume -- as yours seems to be -- and you're not running it, it gets backed up.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-12-2008, 06:24 PM
bill52 bill52 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
Vm Ware and Boot Camp

Along the same lines I do have VM on a boot camp partition. To back it up using SD I make an image file of the partition, put it on my desktop and then run a normal back up. I'm assuming that in worst case I could restore from my backup but then would have to add back in the boot camp partition and then copy the files over from the image file. Would that work and is there a better way to do it? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-12-2008, 08:44 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That'll certainly work, I think, but you could also use WinClone.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SD and TM backups - what goes first? Moses3d General 14 02-19-2008 01:53 PM
Saving backups? Necessary for scheduled backps? gcoghill General 2 12-09-2007 11:43 PM
Bootable vs file backups, VMware and partitions dezinnia General 19 10-25-2007 09:00 AM
Scheduling Rotating backups Tangobozo General 1 09-18-2006 06:49 AM
Feature request: "Run scheduled backups NOW" option ChicagoLarry General 1 09-11-2006 12:29 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.