Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-20-2008, 11:31 PM
Greg Greg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
New PBP hard drive; restore from SuperDuper on Drobo

Dave,

I'm going to install a new hard drive in my 2.33 MHz MBP OSX 10.5.5. I have a bootable SD back-up on a separate partition on a fire wire 800 Drobo. I've read various posts on the process. A few questions.
1. I've seen reference in some posts to the necessity of renaming the SD backup drive to match the laptop's drive name i.e. "Macintosh HD" (currently the Drobo partition is called SuperDuper). Is this necessary?
2. Is the correct sequence?:
a. Start PBP (with new drive & no OS) while holding down the option key.
b. Select start up disc as SuperDuper (in my case as above).
c. After the SD back-up boots up, use disc utility to format & partition the new hard drive.
d. Launch SD & Perform a SD backup with the SuperDuper Clone on the Drobo as the Source & the new hard drive as the target.
e. Finished - Restart from new hard drive.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-21-2008, 08:12 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You should rename the new drive the same as the original drive in this case, Greg. Also, make sure you can actually start up from the Drobo before you swap the drive.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-21-2008, 03:56 PM
Greg Greg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Dave,

I'll rename the new drive the same as the old internal drive.

Do I need to rename the Drobo SD back-up volume the same as the old hard drive (or just leave it named SuperDuper)?

I've tested starting up from the Drobo via FireWire and it works. Is there a potential problem?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-21-2008, 04:01 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You don't have to, no. And, no -- if you set things up right, the Drobo should start up fine. But I didn't know if you'd partitioned it right, etc, and it's always better to actually try it before you start swapping hardware.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-22-2008, 03:41 PM
joemac joemac is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
You should rename the new drive the same as the original drive in this case...
hi d'

i've seen this recommendation several times, but only AFTER installing a new drive and doing a full restore/copy back, from sd!

did NOT name the new drive the same as the original and it seems to be working great.

i did have to select a new 'copy to/copy from' location (with the new drive name) but that was the only extra step.

am i headed for trouble because of NOT using the original drive name now?

cheers
joemac
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-22-2008, 03:44 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Not necessarily, no. If you don't have another drive around named the same as the old one, you're probably just fine.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows equivalent to SuperDuper!? jreffner General 21 08-13-2009 05:36 PM
Migrating from one hard drive to another zestyping General 3 07-25-2008 08:22 AM
Best process to replace internal hard drive using SuperDuper!? emikysa General 26 02-09-2007 05:03 PM
Backup and Restore to Newly Partitioned Hard Drive Peterbart General 5 11-14-2006 10:18 AM
SuperDuper used to restore after new hard drive install dmetzcher General 2 04-18-2006 12:21 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.