Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-04-2008, 12:02 PM
Theophan Theophan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Newbie: b/u 2 Macs and an external drive?

I downloaded SuperDuper yesterday, have gone through the manual, am not sure I understand whether it can do what I want. I hope that experienced users here may know and be willing to help me.

I have 2 Macs (mine and my wife's), both running latest Leopard, with a wireless Time Capsule and another external drive firewired to one of the Macs. The firewire drive contains video files I have no room for on my small MacBook Pro drive, so at present, there's no b/u of the video files. Also, I've been concerned that my Time Capsule is in the same house as the computers, so if there were a catastrophe in the house, both computers and b/u might be gone.

So I just bought a little Passport 320 GB drive and downloaded SuperDuper, but I can't figure out whether it will do what I hope:

1) Bootable b/u of the MacBook Pro INCLUDING the external firewire drive's data. (It looks like SuperDuper is set up to b/u one disk at a time.)

2) I'm also hoping that in addition to (1), SuperDuper will also make scheduled b/u of the external firewire drive to the wireless Time Capsule, without interfering with the files from Time Machine.

3) I doubt that this will work, but thought I'd ask: Is it possible to do (1) and then hook the Passport to another Mac and b/u user files, or will that mess up the bootable b/u of the first Mac?

Many thanks!

Theophan
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-04-2008, 12:06 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,292
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Well, if you want to back up three drives (2 internal, 1 FW), you'll need to create three partitions on the backup drive with Disk Utility -- you'll want to use the "GUID" partition scheme.

You'll then direct each source volume to its corresponding destination, using "Backup - all files" with Smart Update, except where you only want to do user files, in which case you'll use "Backup - user files".

You can then back up all three volumes to images on your Time Capsule -- see "Backing up over a network" in the User's Guide, and the "Airport Disks" post at the Shirt Pocket blog.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-04-2008, 01:39 PM
Theophan Theophan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Partitioning b/u drives

Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
Well, if you want to back up three drives (2 internal, 1 FW), you'll need to create three partitions on the backup drive... then direct each source volume to its corresponding destination, using "Backup - all files" with Smart Update... You can then back up all three volumes to images on your Time Capsule -- see "Backing up over a network" in the User's Guide, and the "Airport Disks" post at the Shirt Pocket blog.
Thanks! I was thinking so hard about one backup that included two drives that it just hadn't occurred to me to partition the Passport disk and do two completely separate backups in different partitions.

I'll look for that listing on the blog about Time Capsule. I assume you mean I'd need to repartition Time Capsule as well? Time Machine seems to be working fine putting its b/u of two different Macs in the same partition, but I'd love to have SuperDuper add a b/u of that one external (firewire) drive, so I'm guessing I'd need to add a second partition to the Time Capsule disk for that. I'll look for more information where you suggested and if I'm still clueless, I'll come back here.

Thanks again!

Theophan
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-04-2008, 01:47 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,292
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No, you wouldn't partition the time capsule, because you have to back to images over the network.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-07-2008, 02:16 AM
sparkchaser sparkchaser is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
how about using mac mini powerpc as pseudo-time capsule

What about using mac mini powerpc as pseudo-time capsule backup device but compatible with my new intel macbook running Leopard and my intel mac mini running Tiger? My first experience with Time Machine was less than optimal, accidently writing over my Bootcamp partition on the macbook, and totally ignoring the external usb drive that was too small. Also, all 3 macs have 80Gig harddrives. I know I won't be able to clone everything, but need to backup all document directories and a few downloaded programs. I can reinstall OS-X from its original disks
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with getting info from external SD copy to new internal hard drive. MsMcGee General 9 01-27-2008 09:36 PM
Hard drive size needed for backup? Hoosier_1701 General 8 05-20-2006 07:49 AM
Can I Clone My Hardrive to an External Drive Already Containing Files On IT? mosk General 3 05-03-2006 08:22 AM
Backing up two Macs, one drive jigray3 General 1 03-31-2006 12:25 PM
Backup without erasing? jefferis General 35 07-25-2005 12:23 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.