Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-26-2008, 11:34 AM
toy toy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
Using SuperDuper for an offsite Time Machine backup

I have tried to use SuperDuper to maintain an offsite backup of my company's Time Machine backups.

The setup is simple: At the office, I have a Macpro running OSX Leopard Server and an attached Drobo external harddisk for Time Machine backups. On the Drobo, a Time machine backup of the server itself is maintained, as are Time Machine backups of all company iMacs and MacBooks.

Thanks to Leopard Server, this setup works wonderfully well, but has critical drawback: the backups are stored at the office. If something happens (fire, etc.), I still will lose all data.

So, I've been looking for solutions to maintain an offsite backup of the Time Machine backups on the server's Drobo drive, this is the solution I thought of:

Office: Macpro with OSX Leopard Server, VPN server, Drobo external drive with Time Machine backups (of server and clients).

At home: iMac with OSX Leopard, VPN client, SuperDuper, Drobo external drive to store backup of office Drobo.

Every night, the iMac is scheduled to wake up, opens the VPN tunnel to the office and mounts the office MacPro's Drobo.

So far, I haven't been able to copy or sync the office MacPro's Drobo with the iMac's Drobo.

The problem is: Drobo doesn't see the mounted MacPro Drobo (I also tried to make an alias, but that does not work either).

The question is this: is there a way to force Superduper to work as described above, or do I need to use alternatives, like rsync or online backup services?

Any thoughts are highly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-26-2008, 12:02 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
SuperDuper! can't copy over a network like that, Toy, sorry.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
backup file size—SD vs. Time Machine jotaro General 10 06-23-2009 10:00 AM
Cloning from a backup and Time Machine Weirdness isaac General 3 03-27-2008 01:09 PM
Time Machine to an existing SD backup volume? scutchen General 1 02-22-2008 02:26 PM
Time Machine stopped working - SuperDuper involved? adriansmith General 18 02-20-2008 03:48 PM
How do I store a bootable backup side-by-side with my Time Machine data? dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 02-07-2008 06:36 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.