Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-02-2005, 10:53 PM
cmod cmod is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2
Cannot find target volume -- Even with volume mounted!

Just started using SuperDuper yesterday.

Find it works great but for some reason it always gives me the same error on startup: "Cannot find target volume '*Vol Name*'"

Even though the volume is mounted and appears on my desktop. If I click cancel I can then go and select the very same volume name from the drop down list.

My volume name does have a space in it which makes me wonder if that's the problem?

Any ideas why this would be happening? It's especially inconvenient since I'd like to schedule backups ...

Thanks,
C
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-02-2005, 11:04 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Well, C, we don't save the volume by "name", but rather by low-level UUID.

So, try selecting some other drive, quitting, and then selecting the destination again. Then quit and restart: does that restore the drive properly?

To ensure you don't get this prompt in the future, don't erase the drive outside SuperDuper! Unfortunately, Disk Utility doesn't retain the UUID, so if you erase a drive with it, it won't "match" any more.

(We do this so, if you rename volumes, we don't copy -- automatically -- to the wrong volume... could be potentially disastrous...)
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-03-2005, 05:10 AM
cmod cmod is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2
Hi Dave,

Thanks for that quick response. I tried what you said and it seems to be working.

C

Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian
Well, C, we don't save the volume by "name", but rather by low-level UUID.

So, try selecting some other drive, quitting, and then selecting the destination again. Then quit and restart: does that restore the drive properly?

To ensure you don't get this prompt in the future, don't erase the drive outside SuperDuper! Unfortunately, Disk Utility doesn't retain the UUID, so if you erase a drive with it, it won't "match" any more.

(We do this so, if you rename volumes, we don't copy -- automatically -- to the wrong volume... could be potentially disastrous...)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-03-2005, 09:21 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Great! Thanks for the follow-up.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot find target volume Timmy General 6 03-13-2006 01:06 PM
Error while trying to enable permissions on target volume Hoosier_1701 General 11 07-16-2005 11:50 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.