Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-02-2008, 09:27 AM
lugesm lugesm is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 7
Porting SuperDuper Backups

Sorry if this is such an elementary (maybe even dumb) question, but I am new to the Mac and even newer to SuperDuper.

I have found that I can make a SuperDuper bootable backup of my iMac hard drive, carry the external HD where the backup is stored to my wife's mac-mini, and boot her machine from the backup HD.

My wife's mac booted from the external HD perfectly, albeit somewhat slowly. Everything on her machine was then identical to the operating environment on my iMac, as it should be. So far, so good.

However, my machine is Ethernet connected to the router, and her machine is connected through Airport to the wireless router. Given this situation, when I boot her machine from the SuperDuper backup from my iMac I am unable to access the Internet.

Question: If I boot her mac-mini from the HD with the SuperDuper bootable backup from my iMac . . . then make changes to such things as the Internet connection . . . does this in any way affect the contents of her hard drive which is (hopefully) completely inactive in this situation?

Further, I assume that when I later do a refresh to the backup HD on my iMac, SuperDuper will discover any changes made to the HD while on my wife's mini and correct those files to again match my machine.

My apologies if these questions are too dumb, verbose, or elementary. Appreciate any comments you can make.

Thanks,
L
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-02-2008, 11:39 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It sounds like your Mac is configured with Airport turned off and Ethernet on, and hers is likely the opposite, so it would make sense that it's not connected when you boot from the other Mac's image.

Changes will be made to the drive you've started up from, not to her 'preferences'.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SuperDuper? Not very... Keychain crash, Leopard, backups -- oh my! jacob.patton General 1 12-22-2007 11:22 AM
SD: How does SuperDuper handle skipped/pinched off scheduled backups? samson General 4 04-18-2007 10:13 AM
What mechanism is used for making scheduled backups happen in SuperDuper? mantronix General 5 02-21-2007 05:48 PM
SuperDuper vs Tiger - slower backups? 2stepbay General 31 09-30-2005 11:22 PM
SuperDuper automounts disk images used for previous backups kbradnam General 1 03-11-2005 07:56 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.