Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-20-2005, 05:29 PM
na goodman na goodman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 13
Trying Tiger on Clone

So, I would like to give Tiger a try but do not want to put it on my main
system. I have an external firewire drive that I have cloned using SD and
I also have a safety clone. Would I apply Tiger to the clone? Also I notice on my clone and safety clone that a number of the applicatons, looks like third party apps are aliases and not the actual app. Does SD clone an alias
associated with the application on my main drive?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-20-2005, 06:03 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
A safety clone shares many applications and files with the main drive -- those are the aliases you're seeing. Totally expected, but please note that it's not a backup for exactly that reason!

It's up to you how you want to try out Tiger. Since it's best to have a full backup, I'd probably try it on the Safety Clone first. If you're happy with it, it's easy enough to install it on your main partition, and you still have a backup.

If you install on your backup, you don't have a backup any more...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-20-2005, 06:51 PM
na goodman na goodman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 13
So does the clone also share the applications with the main drive, because I see the aileses there also. Just so I'm clear - if my main drive ever failed, I would be able to boot from the clone and then would I need to install the
applications that were aileses. Is that correct. Thanks for always answering so quickly and explaining things so well. Have a great weekend.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-20-2005, 06:54 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You shouldn't see aliases on the main drive, "na". Only on a Safety Clone...

A "Backup - all files" copy doesn't create aliases unless the original file being copied *is* an alias.

(Hope your weekend is great too!)
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-20-2005, 07:00 PM
na goodman na goodman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 13
The aileses are on the clone that is an external drive. I don't think they were always there so maybe I should erase the drive and reclone to the external drive. The main drive does not have the aileses.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-20-2005, 07:45 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Yeah, it sounds like your backup wasn't a backup - all files but rather a safety clone...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tiger Prep Advice jacebc General 9 03-04-2007 10:56 AM
Safety clone usage camner General 3 05-17-2005 12:03 AM
New HDD, Got Tiger on Another HDD - Clone? sngecko General 6 05-05-2005 04:59 PM
Applying system update to safety clone na goodman General 3 02-20-2005 03:41 PM
Safety Clone fails to start up after shut down macWish General 4 06-23-2004 05:29 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.