Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-30-2008, 09:50 PM
bcometa bcometa is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 9
Leopard Server : Not performing scheduled backups after restart

I'm managing a small 10.5 server with about 5 clients.

The 5 client computers all have superduper and are cloning fine to their local external drives. The server however, is having issues, so I'm hoping to find out what's wrong.

I opened superduper on the server and none of the schudeled backups had been performed since the last time I was there (15 days ago). All the schedules are setup and the "next backup" shows the correct time (tomorrow early am).

I tried running all 3 scheduled backups using "copy now" from the scheduled copies window. worked fine.

I tried scheduling for 5 minutes in the future, quit superduper, worked fine.

But then I tried scheduling for 10 minutes in the future, restarted the computer, and it didn't automatically start the schedule.

The Console shows nothing different for the last attempt than it did on the first successful ones. No error messages as far as I can see.

Please tell me you know what's going on.

Thanks!

Brian
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-30-2008, 10:30 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Were you logged in after the restart?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-31-2008, 12:32 AM
bcometa bcometa is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 9
yes, i was logged in, everything was loaded up, two minutes before the scheduled time.

on a side note, i thought with leopard i didn't need to be logged in? i thought the need to schedule with "root" was only for pre-10.5 (?).

Last edited by bcometa; 03-31-2008 at 12:33 AM. Reason: correction
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-31-2008, 07:41 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No: you need to be logged in.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-01-2008, 12:17 AM
bcometa bcometa is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 9
ok, i was logged in.

i checked the server today and the backup worked as scheduled (the computer hadn't been restarted since I left yesterday).

but again, when I restart, the scheduled backups still exists in superduper, they just don't run.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-01-2008, 10:19 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I really don't know why that would be; the system scheduler should run regardless of a restart...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Saving backups? Necessary for scheduled backps? gcoghill General 2 12-09-2007 11:43 PM
Scheduled Backups Don't Run Drdul General 3 08-07-2007 06:45 AM
restart failed scheduled job d4v1d General 1 05-16-2007 08:33 AM
Fw Drive Wont Boot Budgie General 3 11-05-2006 01:22 PM
Feature request: "Run scheduled backups NOW" option ChicagoLarry General 1 09-11-2006 12:29 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.