Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-27-2008, 10:14 AM
isaac isaac is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Cloning from a backup and Time Machine Weirdness

I have a single external drive that hosts both a bootable backup, and my time machine backups. I recently needed to do a clean format of my internal drive, so I rebooted from the backup, formated it with disk utility, and then proceeded to clone my backup back to my boot drive.

The first weird thing I noticed is that it started cloning the Backups.backupdb folder, i had to manually exclude it from the clone.

The rest of the clone went fine, and my computer boots fine off my internal drive again. But Time Machine is acting up - it has claimed my boot drive as a time machine disk, and I can't seem to get it to not see it as a valid backup. If I plug my external drive in, it works as it should, and the time machine preference pane shows the external drive as the destination. As soon as I eject the disk however, it immediately switches to my internal drive, and then fails when trying to run.

I'm guessing that if I change time machine to use "none" in the change disk, I can probably clear this out, but I'm trying to avoid having to start up a new set of backups - so my question is two fold.

1) Does anyone know how to get time machine to stop thinking my internal drive is a valid target?

2) Did I do something wrong when cloning back to my internal drive? Is this a known issue?, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-27-2008, 11:52 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That's what the "Restore..." script is for, Isaac. Let me suggest you restore from that instead, since I think you likely didn't exclude quite enough...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-27-2008, 01:05 PM
isaac isaac is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Thanks for the quick response.

I hadn't even noticed the restore script - I've just been using the backup script for years to do the same thing.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-27-2008, 01:09 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Yes -- a totally reasonable thing to do until the side-by-side backup changed the game a bit.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
backup file size—SD vs. Time Machine jotaro General 10 06-23-2009 10:00 AM
Restoring boot drive from a clone and subsequent Time Machine backup Hoosier_1701 General 1 03-06-2008 01:42 PM
Time Machine to an existing SD backup volume? scutchen General 1 02-22-2008 02:26 PM
How do I store a bootable backup side-by-side with my Time Machine data? dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 02-07-2008 06:36 PM
Cloning a Time Machine Volume barrysharp General 5 10-30-2007 11:58 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.