Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 4.50 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-06-2008, 08:13 AM
halt1969 halt1969 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
How does SD manage out of diskspace on a Time Machine disk

First congrats on the new release!

Next question: What happens if I use the same volume for Time Machine and a SD clone and Time Machine uses so much disk space that the clone doesn't fit anymore?

Does SD throw away enough old Time Machine backups to free enough space? Or does it simply complain about not enough disk space. Time Machine will eventually fill the disk so I hope SD can cope with that.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-06-2008, 12:40 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It'll just complain, so make sure you have sufficient space...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-06-2008, 03:19 PM
greengrass greengrass is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 18
Unfortunately, given the way TimeMachine works, every disk, regardless of size will eventually fill up. It seems to me that the only way to guarantee space for a SuperDuper clone on a TM disk is to partition the disk to guarantee enough space is reserved. I know you added the feature of having an SD clone and TM backups co-reside on a single disk to make life easier for the non-technical user, but you may have created a larger downstream problem. To ensure space for a maxed out source disk after TM has claimed "too much" space on the backup disk will require the user to manually delete selected TM snapshots. (I believe that is possible but I'm not certain it is.) For a non technical person that is scarier and more difficult than partitioning in the first place. Assuming your users read manuals and FAQs you may want to make note of the issues involved when you update the manual and the FAQs.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-06-2008, 04:04 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Yes, I'm definitely aware of the issue.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-07-2008, 02:04 AM
MacMarc MacMarc is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 5
SD can't complete; Time Machine filled the disk

I just ran into this problem. SD 2.5 cannot complete a back-up because TM has filled up most of the drive.

Do you have any advice on how to back-up until I buy another drive?

Is there a way to reduce the space that TM uses? If so, I can't find it.

Thanks,
Marc
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-07-2008, 11:17 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
There are a few things you can do. If you have a particular large file that's eating space (e.g. Entourage database), you can go into Time Machine, select it, and use the Action Menu in Finder to remove that file from all your backups.

You could also turn off Time Machine and remove some of its backups or all its folders...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-04-2009, 07:02 PM
MacCetera MacCetera is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hartland, WI
Posts: 19
Deleting complete TM sessions

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacMarc View Post
I just ran into this problem. SD 2.5 cannot complete a back-up because TM has filled up most of the drive.

Do you have any advice on how to back-up until I buy another drive?

Is there a way to reduce the space that TM uses? If so, I can't find it.

Thanks,
Marc
In Time Machine, you can go back to your oldest backup and, under the gear menu in the Finder toolbar, select Delete Backup.
  • This will remove the oldest backup session from your TM backup set.
  • It may not give you much free space back because most of the files in that set are probably referenced in multiple newer sets, so you should do this one-at-a-time until you have freed enough space to complete your SD clone.
Note that each removal may take some time to complete. If you exit Time Machine, there will be a progress dialog in the Finder. Wait for that to complete before deciding if you've nuked enough old stuff.

-- Marc
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
backup file size—SD vs. Time Machine jotaro General 10 06-23-2009 10:00 AM
Cannot Read SuperDuper! Image from Tiger in Leopard ecornips General 2 12-11-2007 09:50 PM
Will Time Machine make SuperDuper obsolete? JAC II General 9 11-07-2007 03:54 PM
A different angle on SD & Time Machine integration badlydrawnboy General 10 10-26-2007 08:37 PM
write problems after cloning machine mkrueger General 13 12-31-2004 07:17 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.