Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-01-2005, 09:27 AM
kbrigby kbrigby is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2
Can't restart from Safety Clone

New user here. I ran my first Safety Clone but received an error when trying to restart from the clone which is on an external Fantom 80GB Firewire drive. Here is the tail of the logfile:

|11:30:35 PM|Info| Scanned 390818 items occupying 57.05 GB (61837 directories, 325931 files, 3050 symlinks)
|11:30:35 PM|Info| Copied 208408 items totaling 5.49 GB (39766 directories, 167472 files, 1170 symlinks)
|11:30:35 PM|Info| Cloned 5.49 GB of data in 2361 seconds at an effective transfer rate of 2.38 MB/s
|11:30:35 PM|Info| PHASE: Conclude Target Setup
|11:30:35 PM|Info| ...ACTION: Bless System on Backup
|11:30:35 PM|Info| ......COMMAND => Blessing OS X System Folder
|11:30:36 PM|Info| Successfully blessed Mac OS X folder on Backup
|11:30:36 PM|Info| ......COMMAND => Blessing OS 9 System Folder
|11:30:36 PM|Info| Successfully blessed Mac OS 9 System Folder on Backup
|11:30:36 PM|Info| ...ACTION: Reboot from Backup
|11:30:36 PM|Info| ......COMMAND => Setting startup disk to Backup
|11:30:36 PM|Error| Error getting OF path: Invalid argument


I tried manually setting the Startup Disk and rebooting but it seems like my iMac (G4 800, 768MB RAM, 10.2.8) is still starting from the internal drive. I even tried restarting with the Option key held but I'm not sure if it worked.

How do you tell which drive is the Startup?

Why am I getting an error from Super Duper?

Ken
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-01-2005, 10:22 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That's unusual. We'd only expect an error like that if the drive itself didn't support booting, or if you were trying to boot from an image.

If you could send your entire SuperDuper!.log to support, I'll take a look and see what I can figure out. I'd also love a System Profiler report, if you could -- open System Profiler and choose File | Save, then save to the default (XML) format. Under Jaguar, that might not be possible, but whatever you can do would help. Make sure the external drive is attached.

You can tell which drive is the boot drive by looking at its root: the boot drive has icons for "Applications" and other folders, whereas other drives don't. You can also tell in System Preferences | Startup Disk -- the default boot drive is selected when it first comes up (although that isn't always the 'current' boot drive if you used Option).
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-01-2005, 01:34 PM
kbrigby kbrigby is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2
Thanks Dave. Check your email.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Applying system update to safety clone na goodman General 3 02-20-2005 03:41 PM
Safety Clone and Apple Backup query jawnl General 3 01-30-2005 10:41 PM
Safety Clone fails to start up after shut down macWish General 4 06-23-2004 05:29 PM
PGP from a Safety Clone wavenumber General 4 06-17-2004 01:51 PM
When I use a Safety Clone, LaunchBar isn't locating my Applications! dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 04-02-2004 11:33 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.