Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-06-2005, 06:24 PM
fabius fabius is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 14
Slow incremental cloning

I back up two drives to partitions on an external drive.

One of the drives to be backed up has around 50GB of MP3s and the incremental backups of that take a matter of seconds, as it whizzes through, finding little new to backup.

But the other drive to be backed up, containing 35GB of the System, User files (in fact, everything except music) takes rather longer - every time I do an incremental backup Super Duper sits there for 6-10 minutes doing nothing. Where the filepaths appear later it just says "Cloning [Drivename] to [Drivename2]".

Is this normal? Is it just because of the much larger number of files? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-06-2005, 06:36 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Hm. That doesn't sound terribly normal. When you say it sits there doing "nothing", what does SuperDuper! look like?

It sounds to me like you might have a *huge* number of temporary files, which are being examined in the early stages of operation. Have you rebooted this system recently?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-06-2005, 09:52 PM
macfeller macfeller is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 49
A permissions thang?

My daughter had a similat situation. There was one huge file whose permissions were hosed. In Get Info she was not the owner, nor was anyone/thing else. Said file was copied each time.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-06-2005, 09:56 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It's possible that could be the problem here, of course... but it sounds like -- in his situation -- the delay is before the copying even starts. Hopefully we'll find out more shortly.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-07-2005, 02:20 PM
macfeller macfeller is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 49
Yeah, I do remember the progress bar progressing ...

and doing so steadily.

BTW, I did give up on Synk and bought my own SD. Looking forward to v.2!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-07-2005, 02:42 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Great to hear! Thanks for the support...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-08-2005, 05:17 PM
fabius fabius is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian
Hm. That doesn't sound terribly normal. When you say it sits there doing "nothing", what does SuperDuper! look like?
Well, it says "Copy Files from [Drive1] to [Drive2]" then it has the progress bar (not moving) and then it says "Cloning [Drive1] to [Drive2]". Then there's a "Stop" button.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian
It sounds to me like you might have a *huge* number of temporary files, which are being examined in the early stages of operation. Have you rebooted this system recently?
Yeah, I've rebooted in the past since using it, and have just tried rebooting again. After rebooting this time SuperDuper! only took 4.57 before the above situation changed and it began displaying file names... so maybe it's gradually getting quicker!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-08-2005, 05:39 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
OK. This is quite unusual, and I have one other user reporting something semi-similar (though in his case there's a weird, hour-long delay).

Let me ask you to do the following:

* Open Terminal
* Type "sudo sample SVUClone 5", hit return, type your password but don't hit return yet.
* Start the backup.
* At the pause, switch back to the terminal and press return.
* Allow it to complete, and send the sample file (it'll tell you the name), SuperDuper!.log and System Profiler report to support.

Thanks!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-08-2005, 05:59 PM
fabius fabius is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 14
Hmm, annoying... this time, for the first time, SuperDuper! didn't have that wait, and went straight into copying files. I'll try doing as you suggest when I next do a backup.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-08-2005, 06:40 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Drat. Well, a watched pot never boils, and all that.

Let me know if it does pause later, and try to capture the info. Thanks!
__________________
--Dave Nanian

Last edited by dnanian; 04-08-2005 at 06:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Incremental Backup Axxll General 17 07-01-2005 07:03 AM
SD hangs while cloning - no warnings, no errors martigan General 2 02-09-2005 03:38 PM
write problems after cloning machine mkrueger General 13 12-31-2004 07:17 PM
using system while cloning camner General 1 08-31-2004 02:25 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.