Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-31-2007, 04:05 PM
D.G. D.G. is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Scheduler auto-unmount requires admin password.

I normally run as a non admin account, and I've noticed that when a scheduled backup runs and the disk wasn't mounted, SD! mounts, does the back up, and then hangs waiting for an admin password to unmount the disk before quitting.

Is there a way around this?

I was imagining if SD! could mount the disk it should be able to unmount it, but I see that using the disk utility app does the same thing, while the finder doesn't require the password to unmount...

DG
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-31-2007, 04:09 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
We ask the system to unmount, and for some reason it's not doing it -- perhaps trying to repair permissions?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-31-2007, 06:26 PM
D.G. D.G. is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
I have the feeling it's to do with the process of unmounting that SD! uses combined with not running as an admin.

The prompt I get is from the DiskManagementTool. This is the same prompt as I get from attempting to unmount using the disk utility app:

I can mount from the disk utility, but unmounting from the disk utility asks for an admin password.

On the other hand, if I mount from the disk utility, I can unmount from the finder with no password.

The same thing occurs if I mount just by plugging in the firewire cable. Finder can unmount, disk utility requires an admin password to unmount.

Repair permissions and verifying the disks made no difference to this behavior.

DG
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-31-2007, 11:51 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Unfortunately, I don't think there's anything we can do, DG...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-01-2007, 10:30 AM
D.G. D.G. is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Would I be correct in thinking that creating the schedule as my admin user should get around this? But then the admin would have to be logged in?

DG
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-01-2007, 12:56 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It depends what's not working on your system, DG, but I'd expect so.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auto mount / unmount FW volumes? philsho General 4 03-15-2007 08:47 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.