Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-14-2007, 12:21 PM
CBC CBC is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 10
Hanging ....

Hey,

I backed up my emac OSX 10.3.9 fully to a Lacie 250 Gig firewire drive. Something went amiss with my internal hard drive, and all of my applications are acting as though I am a first time user.

When I start up from the firewire drive, I can access my documents which do not appear on the hard drive any longer.

So I tried an Archive and Install to be safe, and then I tried to use Super Duper to "copy different" from the Fireiwre back onto the internal because I had been editing and saving all documents on the Firewire, and those were the items I wanted to keep. I let it run for 4 hours and 45 minutes last night, but after about the first hour, the numbers didn't change. I stopped and tried again, and it was just hanging earlier in the process.

Firevault is off, although when I backed up the first time, firevault was on. Sleep mode is off.

My internal drive will no longer boot up for some reason ...
Do I need to clean install to get this to work?

I am new at this whole situation but I need my computer for work purposes so losing anything is no good. My Itunes and Iphoto libraries are on DVDs as well.

help!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-14-2007, 12:27 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You definitely can't do a "copy different" and produce a bootable drive. If the backup is up to date, I think the best thing to do would be to do an erase-then-copy or Smart Update to get things back...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-14-2007, 12:40 PM
CBC CBC is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 10
I see

Oh, OK. Although I have read through the manual, it still just flies over my head. Ok, so all of the applications and such should be on my bootable drive right (ie: the startupdisk is the backup at this very moment which means that the computer is running the applications through the backup copy?)?

Is it normal that the music and photos don't show up when I click on itunes or iphoto (although the folders are in there with all the info, they don't register as such? I am just so scared it's all going to go away ...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-14-2007, 12:43 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
The music should show up there, actually, if it's the startup drive and the data's there. Make sure you go through the full path to your data -- start at the top of your backup drive, then Users, then your account, then Pictures or Music and make sure things are where they're supposed to be...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-14-2007, 01:06 PM
CBC CBC is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 10
They are hierarch-ically where they are supposed to be I believe. It says Claudia as user and then underneath it has a sparseimage. Then when I click on the sparseimage a drive appears, and all the info is there. It's just when I click on an application to access the info (say itunes for the music), it asks me to set up my account, and opens with nothing in it. I am sorry for all the questions. It just seems everything is amiss, and I'm not sure if I even clean install if I will know how to restore everything that's on there.

I have looked online quite a bit through discussion boards and such but I can't seem to find much.

I am not sure if this matters, but my emac was one of the ones with the bad capacitors. Apple just replaced the motherboard, but these problems started right after I backed up for the first time using superduper, which I did because my computer started freezing and I thought it might be on its way out.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-14-2007, 01:08 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Um, OK, so your Home folder is using FileVault. I thought you said that you were logged into the backup? Did you turn FileVault off?

I'm quite confused about what you've done here, and how your system is set up...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SD hanging while looking for AFP volume at launch mrwiggles General 1 01-21-2007 07:30 PM
S.D. always fails with Mac OS 10.4.8 danM General 81 01-15-2007 03:07 PM
G5 (PPC, 10.4.8) keeps hanging on initial backup UniAce General 7 01-14-2007 05:13 PM
Super Duper hanging user8333 General 7 09-13-2006 11:46 PM
SuperDuper is hanging... eshotwell General 4 12-30-2005 09:33 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.