Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-16-2006, 07:30 PM
danM danM is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6
Angry S.D. always fails with Mac OS 10.4.8

I just can not get S.D. to work with Mac OS 10.4.8. on an Intel Mac Mini.

A full clone always stops when the blue progress band is about 75% of the way along to the end. The S.D. display just vanishes and the clone is incomplete.

I'm told there is a graphical problem which affects S.D. sometimes - but I always have the problem.

Has anyone any solution - otherwise Super Duper is unusable.


Dan.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-16-2006, 09:59 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
This is, unfortunately, a bug in 10.4.8 that's not SuperDuper! specific, and seems to be affecting some users. It's intermittent for most, but obviously not you.

We've reported it to Apple and are trying to come up with a workaround internally, too... I'm sorry for the frustration!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-17-2006, 03:33 AM
danM danM is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6
Question

While I accept the above - I was hoping some member might have found a solution, if indeed one is possible. Does any other forum member have similar trouble ?

dan
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-17-2006, 11:49 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
The real solution, for now, is to go to 10.4.7 instead (if you're not using a Sandbox, you can archive-and-install to your base version and update to 10.4.7 with a download).

I realize this is frustrating and annoying; we're doing our best at this end to come up with a workaround.

(The problem seems to be with threaded access to window updates; our progress indicator is set to update on its own thread, and the "main thread" updates too. But Core Graphics -- which handles the low level updating -- looks to be having a new problem with locking, and crashes either the main thread or the progress indicator thread when there's contention...)
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-17-2006, 12:11 PM
danM danM is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6
Question

I do hope you succeed. In the meantime I'm surprised that more users are not reporting the same trouble - is the type of Mac a factor, or is the problem
likely on any Mac running 10.4.8 ?

dan
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-17-2006, 12:29 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Honestly, I don't know -- it doesn't happen to me on any of my Macs, but it definitely seems to be Intel-specific.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-18-2006, 11:16 AM
edalzell edalzell is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
(The problem seems to be with threaded access to window updates; our progress indicator is set to update on its own thread, and the "main thread" updates too. But Core Graphics -- which handles the low level updating -- looks to be having a new problem with locking, and crashes either the main thread or the progress indicator thread when there's contention...)
I wonder if it has something to do with the shared video memory of MacBook? Have you noticed any commonality on the machines that they are being run on?

I have a MB so I will try a backup this week and let you know how it goes.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-18-2006, 11:17 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It doesn't seem to have to do with that, Ed -- we've seen it on MacBook Pros, too, and they have a dedicated video card.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Restore Spotlight State when Clone Fails GraphiteWindows General 1 08-29-2006 11:16 PM
Backup fails, can not copy some airport file nielsb General 5 06-21-2006 07:47 AM
Backup fails because of not enough room on destination sparseimage file??? tubwreck General 6 03-24-2006 10:10 AM
Restored version fails to get to boot up OneMatchFire General 4 07-18-2005 02:33 PM
Clone from HDD to DMG on external drive fails bdwilson General 3 04-22-2005 02:39 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.