Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-20-2006, 08:25 PM
mypointofview mypointofview is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 41
Restart from Sandbox > Could that be "temporary" please?

Hi, I just discovered that I'm running on Sandbox since a week -- unexpectedly

I had done a "backup" to Sandbox and told the program to then, after finishing, to restart from Sandbox because I wanted to quickly check upon a new program installation which would involve running a complex installer.

I thought that this change of Startup Disk would be temporary -- similar to a choice of start volume when you hold the option key upon startup.

Since the Sandbox concept is such, that you use the Sandbox system in a temporary manner anyways, I suggest to let this change in startup volume also be just *temporary*.

Sincerely, martin.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-20-2006, 08:34 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Sorry, Martin -- that's not something I'm likely to do. The *idea* of the Sandbox is to boot from it and stay there, and a temporary boot would really mess that up. For example, if an installer (like a software update) needs you to restart (quite likely), a "temporary" selection would suddenly boot you from a different drive...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-20-2006, 09:49 PM
mypointofview mypointofview is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 41
Quote:
if an installer (like a software update) needs you to restart (quite likely), a "temporary" selection would suddenly boot you from a different drive...
This makes sense.

Martin
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-20-2006, 09:57 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Good -- sorry for the confusion you encountered, though.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Updating Sandbox DaleMeyn General 5 02-28-2006 08:20 AM
Mac and Backup newbie, sizing sandbox and sparce image kswaty General 5 02-14-2006 12:52 PM
Can I do this booted in Sandbox? emily General 1 01-22-2006 10:05 AM
Sandbox won't recognize previous users & passwords tdsg General 1 01-08-2006 07:05 PM
sandbox question zdoob General 17 12-17-2005 07:03 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.