Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-20-2006, 06:01 PM
macmidiguy macmidiguy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8
Question How do I prevent SuperDrive from EARASING...

I've launched SuperDuper version 2.1 and selected copy from an internal drive to an external firewire drive.

However what stopped from hitting copy now is the dialogue statement that Pressing copy now will first repair permissions on the selected internal drive and then ERASE the external firewire drive.

I certainly do not want to erase the existing data on that firewire drive. That firewire drive just has my backup audio data and backup photo/movies data.

How do setup or can I prevent SuperDuper from earasing a drive.

Or is that feature only available in the fully paid version?

Obviously I don't really understand how to work with SuperDuper.

Last edited by macmidiguy; 03-20-2006 at 06:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-20-2006, 06:08 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,292
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Hi, macmidiguy. Two of the same question in a few minutes, so excuse the same phrasing.

Please see the section of the User's Guide entitled "Storing a backup alongside other files on a destination volume", linked right off the first page of the User's Guide.

Hope that helps!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-20-2006, 06:26 PM
macmidiguy macmidiguy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8
Thanks.

Does hitting copy give you a warning as to what SuperDuper will do?

Such as, "Are you sure..." warning.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-20-2006, 07:52 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,292
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
As long as you didn't turn it off in Preferences, yes, it does. It also warns quite clearly in the "What's going to happen?" section of the UI, and under the "During copy" choice in Options.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Prevent "open the application... for the first time" dialogs? Darkside General 1 05-12-2005 09:54 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.