Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-13-2006, 09:55 PM
hattorihanzo hattorihanzo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 5
Backup disk config. for backups

Hello,

I registered and have a full version of SuperDuper.

If I wanted to make a backup of my boot drive and my data drive, do I need to create 2 partitions on my backup drive?

Boot drive: 80g
Data drive: 250g
Backup drive: 250g

Cheers,
Hattori Hanzo
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-13-2006, 10:08 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Yes, you'll want a destination partition for each source partition or drive of sufficient size to fit the data's "maximum size" plus a little as working space.

Alternatively, you can back up to individual sparse images on a single partition, but those aren't directly bootable until restored.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-13-2006, 10:10 PM
hattorihanzo hattorihanzo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 5
Thumbs up

Wow, that was a quick reply!

Thank you for the suggestion. I will try that out tonight.

Cheers,
Hattori Hanzo
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-13-2006, 10:17 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
OK -- let me know how it goes!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-14-2006, 07:15 PM
hattorihanzo hattorihanzo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian
OK -- let me know how it goes!
I setup 2 partitions on my backup drive. Did a full backup from my boot drive onto the 1st partition of the backup drive and a custom backup from my data drive onto the 2nd partition of the backup drive. Worked great!

I was able to boot the backup boot drive with no probs.

Great product. Now the next step is setup it via a scheduled event..

Cheers,
Hattori Hanzo
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-14-2006, 09:13 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Terrific! That's how it's supposed to work.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Pull" a backup from a remotely mounted disk? DrDan in MA General 6 02-08-2006 11:00 AM
How to verify a Scheduled Backup? tuqqer General 3 12-06-2005 06:50 PM
SuperDuper Backup of AES 128 Encrypted Disk Image rwg4 General 3 11-30-2005 10:28 AM
(Zero-length) File caused SuperDuper to abort backup alancfrancis General 7 08-31-2005 10:42 AM
Smart Backup Error bill s General 20 02-04-2005 09:46 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.