Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   not ejecting sparse image after backup (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=905)

rossb 12-08-2005 04:47 PM

not ejecting sparse image after backup
 
Hi,

First off - love 2.0. The fact that scheduling multiple backups at the same time makes them run back-to-back is absolutely amazing and makes the backup far more efficient than I had it before with iCal and whatnot.

Okay, the problem.

In the manual it says if you create a sparse image within SuperDuper! as destination, in the future it automatically connects, mounts, and ejects after backup. The first two are working for me, as before 2.0, but the app doesn't eject the image afterwards.

Is this perhaps because I am using pre-existing sparse images that were made before 2.0 with DiskUtility, so the app isn't "latching on" to them as such? As it is, people come into work in the morning and find the sparse image mounted. It's messy, and there's always the risk that someone might be completely careless and start working on the sparse image.

Any ideas? I want to keep the sparse images I already have, and not make new ones (which I presume would fix the problem, if the manual is correct).

Thanks,
Ross

dnanian 12-08-2005 06:42 PM

Nope -- I think you're probably not using the "Disk image..." choice in the destination pop-up, but rather mounting them the 'old way'.

So -- choose "disk image..." in the pop-up, make sure it's set to "Read/Write "Sparse" image", and then pick the image file. Ignore the warning about overwriting -- it's just going to update that, not overwrite.

That's all you need to do.

rossb 12-09-2005 10:35 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dnanian
Nope -- I think you're probably not using the "Disk image..." choice in the destination pop-up, but rather mounting them the 'old way'.

So -- choose "disk image..." in the pop-up, make sure it's set to "Read/Write "Sparse" image", and then pick the image file. Ignore the warning about overwriting -- it's just going to update that, not overwrite.

That's all you need to do.

You're a star, Dave. Today I finally have the all-SuperDuper! backup solution running flawlessly. It was the "replace" button that scared me off when I tried that before maybe something to tweak. Anyway, wonderful. The interface is definitely one of the best Mac interfaces out there today.

Thanks,
Ross

dnanian 12-09-2005 10:50 AM

Yeah. That's part of the standard panel and we're still trying to figure out how to tweak that particular alert.

Glad it worked, Ross, and thanks.

sjk 12-30-2005 07:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rossb
It was the "replace" button that scared me off when I tried that before

Me, too! I didn't even try it until after Dave reassured me it worked the way it does, which was counterintuitive to my expectation.

dnanian 12-30-2005 10:38 PM

Indeed. We're hoping to get around that prompt at some point in the future. I hate it too.

arnaud 02-08-2006 05:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dnanian
Nope -- I think you're probably not using the "Disk image..." choice in the destination pop-up, but rather mounting them the 'old way'.

So -- choose "disk image..." in the pop-up, make sure it's set to "Read/Write "Sparse" image", and then pick the image file. Ignore the warning about overwriting -- it's just going to update that, not overwrite.

That's all you need to do.


Hello Dave, hello everyone

I am a bit puzzled when using a "sparse image" where I'm smart-updating some important folders.
When I launch SD, the image mounts, and I have to possible destinations for my smart-update : the image itself and the mounted image.
1 Is it normal ? 2 Which one should I choose in SD ?

Thanks

dnanian 02-08-2006 06:20 PM

If, when you launch SD!, the image mounted, that would be because the last run was with the image volume selected, as opposed to the image file.

The only real difference: with the image file we mount/unmount during the "Copy Now" process. With the image volume we mount when the settings are loaded, and then treat it as a disk from that point forward: the drive is not unmounted at the end.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:22 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.