Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   time machine question (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5805)

Lucas 10-01-2009 02:00 AM

time machine question
 
Sorry for the newb question
I have an intel iMac and I use a Lacie Hub for Time Machine it works great!
I just purchased SD so I can do a weekly backup in case my office burns down or if some lowlife steals my Mac AND the Lacie Hub.
I also purchased a second 1TB Lacie (that I will keep off-site) so I can use SD to make weekly backups.
My question should I use SD to copy everything from my original Lacie Hub (ie the Time Machine files) onto the new 1TB Lacie?
Im thinking this might be more useful than doing a standard backup of the iMac?
Thanks in advance for any advice!
Lucas

dnanian 10-01-2009 09:20 AM

Well, the only LaCie Hub I can find is an actual hub, not a drive, so I'm not quite sure what you're using. But, if you're going to use Time Machine with one drive, you can copy that data to the other with SD, but you should turn TM off when you do it.

However, I'd create a real, bootable SD! backup on a separate partition on the drive (see Help > Frequently Asked Questions in SuperDuper!) so you have a bootable backup in addition to your Time Machine data.

Lucas 10-01-2009 05:59 PM

What I'm using for Time Machine is actually called a "Lacie miniHUB USB and Firewire Hard Drive 250GB" so basically it's a hard drive with a confusing name :confused:
Thanks for your reply. I think I'll keep things really simple and will do a weekly backup of my iMac hard drive direct to the new 1TB Lacie (using "backup all files" and SMART UPDATE).
This WILL give me a bootable backup won't it?
The 1TB drive will then be taken off site for the week.
And I'll have TM doing it's own thing with the old 250BG miniHUB drive that stays connected to the iMac to cover any more immediate deletions etc.
This should cover my needs in the simplest and fastest way.
Thanks again.
Lucas

dnanian 10-01-2009 06:09 PM

If the drive is properly partitioned (etc - see the Frequently Asked Questions section of the forum as I said before), it should give you a bootable backup. Of course, test it...


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:38 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.