Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   New User , Creating A Sandbox (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5660)

tobacco_slammer 09-04-2009 05:58 AM

New User , Creating A Sandbox
 
Hi everyone:) New to the forums and fairly new to SuperDuper!

I've just purchased the full version of SuperDuper having used the free one previously and I'm looking at making use of the sandbox feature. I would like to use this for testing out new applications such as Logic Pro 9 and also for testing out Snow Leopard, so that if I have any problems I can simply revert back to my original startup disc and try again.

My setup just now consists of the following drives:

1. iMac Internal 250GB Drive (Startup)
2. 500GB WD External Firewire Drive (Partition 1 - 100GB Bootable Clone, Mac OSX Extended (Journaled), Partition 2 - 400GB Time Machine, Mac OSX Extended (Journaled) *This Drive Is GUID*
3. 500GB WD External Firewire Drive (Audio, Video, Data, Projects, etc)

What I would like to do is create a sandbox partition on my iMac internal drive, say about 50GB in size. I feel this would leave me enough room for experimentation as my internal drive just now is only using around 23GB.

I'm not entirely sure on how I would go about setting this up so i'm looking for some advice.

I was thinking along the following lines:

1. Use smart update in SuperDuper to update clone drive
2. Boot from clone drive
3. Partition internal drive using disk utility (Partition 1 - iMac HD, Partition 2 - Sandbox)
4. Copy clone drive to new iMac HD partition on internal
5. Setup sandbox drive

Would this be the safest and most practical way of doing this or would I be better trying something different?

Thanks

Bryan

dnanian 09-04-2009 08:05 AM

How about creating your Sandbox on an external drive, without repartitioning the internal?

tobacco_slammer 09-04-2009 09:37 AM

Hi dnanian, thanks for the reply.

I do have another 80GB WD external drive that I could use as a sandbox drive but unfortunately it's a usb 2.0 drive and reading the manual it says that this would not be suited.

dnanian 09-04-2009 10:06 AM

Sounds like you have an Intel Mac, though, so a USB drive will work. Make sure you repartition as "GUID"...

tobacco_slammer 09-04-2009 05:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dnanian (Post 26592)
Sounds like you have an Intel Mac

Yes, I maybe should have mentioned this earlier. I'm using a mid 2008 iMac with a core 2 duo processor.

I suppose there is no harm in giving it a try on the usb drive as it's a spare one that I now have.

Thanks for the heads up and i'll let you know how I get on:)


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:53 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.