Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Copying from one machine to another (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5582)

allenbirnbach 08-24-2009 05:10 PM

Copying from one machine to another
 
Can my licensed version of Super Duper be used on more than one machine? I have two desktop towers, and I've put my registered copy on my newer Mac G5.

The reason why I am asking is that I want to copy everything from an older G4 to the G5. Basic reason being that the G4 is older and slower, and I plan to decommission it. The G5 does have data on it, which I do not want to replace. I just want to add the files from the G4. If I connect the two machines with a firewire cord, and install Super Duper on the G4, would it see the G5 so I could copy over the files? Are there any special protocols to keep in mind in making the transfer?

dnanian 08-24-2009 05:13 PM

Well, obviously, you have, Allen, because you're posting here. :)

See my emailed response.

allenbirnbach 08-24-2009 05:18 PM

:-). Corrected.

allenbirnbach 08-24-2009 05:28 PM

See my emailed response.[/QUOTE]

I might be having a problem with a slow server, but I have not seen an email response. Maybe it's best to repost it here? Thanks so much!

dnanian 08-24-2009 05:32 PM

Well, I sent it over a half hour ago. Here's what I said:

In general, if the computers are yours, used primarily by you, we don't require you to purchase multiple licenses. Of course, we appreciate it when people do, since it's modestly priced and registrations are how we pay for support, development, food, things like that.

It's not a "family" license, though.

Hope that makes some sense.

allenbirnbach 08-24-2009 06:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dnanian (Post 26223)

Hope that makes some sense.

Thanks. So now back to what I'm trying to do. If I connect the two machines with a firewire cord, and install Super Duper on the G4, would it see the G5 so I could copy over the files? Are there any special protocols to keep in mind in making the transfer?

Thanks again.

dnanian 08-24-2009 09:27 PM

If you put the destination Mac into "FireWire Target Disk Mode" (hold down T during startup), yes. Nothing terribly special.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:46 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.