Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Can't Copy to HD (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5463)

billmcaninch 07-20-2009 09:47 AM

Can't Copy to HD
 
I'm very new to the Mac environment and this is my first try at using SuperDuper!. Here's the situation. I have a MacBook, 10.5.7, (I'll call it Mac 1) all set up as I would like it and would like to make a second MacBook (Mac 2) identical to the first.

From what I've read I came up with the following procedure:
1. I start Mac 1 in Target Disk Mode.
2. I start Mac 2 and connect Mac 2 to Mac 1 with a firewire cable.
3. The Mac 1 target disk icon appears on the Mac 2 desktop.
4. Using Applications on the Mac 1 target disk I open SuperDuper!
5. In the SuperDuper! "Copy" window I select the Mac 1 hard disk.
6. In the Superduper! "to" window I try to select the Mac 2 hard disk BUT here's where I run into the problem--Mac 2's hard disk is grayed out and cannot be selected.

I'm obviously doing something very basically wrong but can't figure out what. Any help would be appreciated. I have six new MacBooks that I have to deploy.

dnanian 07-20-2009 10:02 AM

That's because you have to go the other way: you can't copy to a Mac you're running from. So you'd put Mac 2 (3, 4, 5, etc) in Target mode and attach them to Mac 1.

billmcaninch 07-20-2009 10:23 AM

How stupid! I guess the word "target" should have been the clue. Thank you very much. It is now working.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:25 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.