Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Can I boot MacBook Pro with clone from MacBook? (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=4914)

sgmiller 01-09-2009 02:18 PM

Can I boot MacBook Pro with clone from MacBook?
 
I need to know if I can boot a new MacBook Pro with a clone from my 2006 MacBook. I don't know if there is some kind of setting of some kind that would prevent that. I need to know for sure because when I have to do it, the MacBook will be across an ocean and I need to have a fully working computer immediately.

thanks in advance

dnanian 01-09-2009 02:42 PM

Directly? Probably not (depending on the version of the OS -- it *should* with 10.5.6, but it's hard to be sure without testing it). But a new MacBook Pro will prompt you to "copy from another Mac", so you can point that at a full backup and it'll bring in your applications and data.

sgmiller 01-09-2009 02:49 PM

Hmmmm...it would be alot cleaner if I could just boot the clone and do all the transfer stuff later but it sounds like a risk even though both machines will be running 10.5.6 right?

dnanian 01-09-2009 04:18 PM

You can try, and if it works, great. If not, you'll have to migrate.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:38 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.