Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   First Restore (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=4869)

gordonvp 12-23-2008 02:35 PM

First Restore
 
hi everyone

so things did go horribly wrong and i remembered to panic.

my 160GB hd died. fortunately i made my first bootable superduper clone the a couple days before. a christmas miracle.

i had a new hd intalled (250GB)

the SD backup clone is on an external firewire drive.
i understand that i need to hold down the Option key on start, select the firewire drive, and use SuperDuper! to perform the restore.

...i'm being really linear now because i am 'near' panic and have never done this before.

does this mean when i open SuperDuper from my backup on the firewire drive it will give me an option somewhere to 'restore?' i've only used it once so am not familiar with it yet.

and this will automatically transfer all my files from the FW drive to my HD?

should i update my OS before the restore? (the new HD came with osx 10.3 on it)

maybe i'm more 'extremely nervous' than near panic

thank u in advance for your patience

emac
osx 10.4.11

dnanian 12-23-2008 02:45 PM

You start up from the backup and use "Backup - all files" to restore, with Smart Update. No need to update the OS, etc.

gordonvp 12-24-2008 01:04 PM

ok. that sounds almost too easy.
one more question tho.... when i picked up my mac with the new hd i was told i had to set up a user account first, again.
do i need to do that first or can i just access the backup files by holding 'Option' at startup and and it will restore my old account as well?
thanks so much.

dnanian 12-24-2008 01:18 PM

It'll restore your old account, too.

gordonvp 12-24-2008 01:21 PM

awesome. tnx again. happy holidays dave.

gordonvp 12-24-2008 06:55 PM

hmmm
when i first opened SuperDuper i got the message that it cannot find source volume "my hd name"
but it was right there.
after closing and reopening SD a couple times the message ceased.

so from the SuperDuper! window i chose....
Copy (name of fw drive with backup on it)
to (name of my hd)
using Backup - all files

it's copying over now and hopefully will be ok
tnx for your insight and patience

dnanian 12-25-2008 01:14 AM

We find drives by their low-level IDs, not their name; that's why it couldn't find something you saw. :)


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:24 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.