Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Auto mount / unmount FW volumes? (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2064)

philsho 02-03-2007 11:45 AM

Auto mount / unmount FW volumes?
 
I've been using SD for a couple of weeks now to backup one data drive to another FW drive via smart update.

After a cursory search, I assume it's still not possible to have SD automatically mount a volume, perform the backup and then unmount the volume when the BU is complete?

There are several reasons why I want to do this. First, it's simply safer for the backup drive to ONLY be mounted during the actual backup. This became painfully evident to me a few years ago after the infamous iTunes2 update, where I lost 10 gigs of data, INCLUDING my (mounted) backup drive!

Secondly, it occurred to me that a very simple mistake on my part could result in disaster if both drives are mounted. If I accidentally place new image files on the backup volume instead of my regular data drive, SD would actually erase(!) the new files since I'm using smart update.

Yes, I should pay attention when uploading images but it wouldn't be that hard to make the mistake. Although the names of the drives are different, the folder structures are identical (that's the point of course), so while perusing files in OSX's column view, it'd be easy to confuse the two.

I tried to lessen the risk by changing the volume's icons but SD makes them the same. (Yes, I know there's a way around this with scripting but that's too much work when it's not a real solution anyway.)

Please, please, please ... include an auto mount/unmount feature in the next version. (also, backing up individual folders would be great as well)

In the meantime, is there a way to auto mount/unmount a volume with Automater or scripting? Please keep in mind I'm a photographer, not a programmer - any hand-holding would be greatly appreciated.

TIA ...

-phil

philsho 02-03-2007 06:15 PM

Possible after all?
 
Ok, after perusing many posts, it seems SD! actually will auto mount/unmount a local FW drive. Let me see if I have it right - all I have to do is:

Schedule my backup to the FW drive, quit SD, unmount the volume via Apple's Disk Utility and at the scheduled time, SuperDuper! will automatically mount the drive, do the back up, unmount the drive, and then quit?

Is that it? Doesn't get any simpler than that! I didn't find a thing about auto mounting/unmounting in the Help file or FAQs - sorry if I overlooked something obvious.

-phil

dnanian 02-03-2007 07:54 PM

Yep -- you've got it: if you're scheduled, we'll automatically mount, copy and unmount. :)

bkpr 03-15-2007 07:01 AM

Hi guys.

Please clear something up for me on this note: Why do you have to unmount the drive with Disk Utility after the schedule is set? Does SD take note of how the drive was unmounted? and if so, how long after I set my schedule does it 'record' how the drive was unmounted?

At this moment, my FW drive is not mounted, and I have scheduled a backup at xx time, but I did not unmount the drive after I set the schedule. Will SD auto mount the drive, do it's thing, and auto unmount it at my next schedule? Or do I need to re-edit the schedule, and then unmount the drive with Disk Utility to get SD to auto unmount?

(that's a mouthful...)

also, I'm creating sparse images with SD, will that affect any auto mount/unmounting?

Thanks in advance
bkpr

dnanian 03-15-2007 08:47 AM

We leave the drive in the state we find it. So, if it's mounted, we leave it mounted. If unmounted, we mount/copy/unmount.

This does not work for sparse images: the intermediate volume will not be mounted (unless a network volume) or unmounted (regardless).


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:32 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.