Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Only showing Aliases (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1502)

mkcmcuh 08-04-2006 04:11 PM

Only showing Aliases
 
I have a problem that I hope you can help me with.

I have cloned my iMac G5, Rev A, to a removable OWC Mercury Elite-AL Firewire 400 + USB2 160GB HD (it has the Oxford chipset) using Firewire. It is formatted to Mac OS Extended (Journaled) and partitioned into three drives: 40GB I call iMac Sandbox (Sandbox - shared users and applications), 40GB I call iMac Backup (Backup - all files), and the remaining GB's are used to copy whatever.

When I copy to the iMac Backup drive, everything comes out good. It is bootable and I can run the programs in Applications and files in my Users folders whether booted to this drive or not.

When I copy to the iMac Sandbox drive all I get in Applications and User folder are "aliases"(folder icon with an arrow). It is bootable but I cannot run the programs in Applications nor access anything in my Users folder.

What am I doing wrong?

Thank you
Charlie

dnanian 08-04-2006 04:12 PM

Well, the applications (etc) should indeed be aliases, but they won't resolve as expected unless you start up from the Sandbox...


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:33 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.