Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   downloading and booting from the backed up copy (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3652)

atipani 02-17-2008 12:31 AM

downloading and booting from the backed up copy

Hi

I'm new to SD. Some time ago I had downloaded a non registered copy and I just successfully backed up my HD (OS X.10.3.9)(on a LaCieFW320GB) in a little less than an hour for almost 40GB, before upgrading to Tiger.
OK.
Then, I decided to buy the complete version of SD, which I did.
I am now downloading the version from the website.
But there, 3 questions:

- why does the SD unregistered application is indicated 5,2Mb (or MB?) and the complete version only 2,7 ???

- why does it take so long ? it has been even stuck (as I write) at 1,2 and indicates 1h45minutes left, for the last… 20minutes !!

-rather than downloading the whole version again, could I choose the upgrade from your site ?

- finally, a totally different question: I've never done a booting from a copy. Could you kindly explain how to do that step by step ? do I have to turn off the computer first and when it starts again will it ask me from where to boot (provided the FWdrive is plugged) ? if it starts from the regular volume, how can it start from the copy which is on my FW external drive??
really beginner's question !

thanks
Atipani
ps. I think I'm going to just stop the downloading and wait for your answer!

atipani 02-17-2008 12:38 AM

my mistake !

Hi again
before speaking I should have done what I just did !:rolleyes::
I opened SD and clicked on "register" and there it was: I was registered, so in fact it was upgraded automatically.
Great !
so, forget about my 3 questions.. I also stopped the downloading.

but my last question remains…for now!:D

Atipani

TMay 02-17-2008 01:16 AM

atipani