PDA

View Full Version : Backup -ALL files?

Jim Stewart
01-13-2006, 06:31 AM
Hi All

I'm new to SuperDuper!, and had a quick exchange of emails with David in which I learnt I need to do a full backup and archive & install of Tiger. That left me thinking: do I really need to backup all my Apps? I currently have 3 versions of Photoshop installed, plus Softpress Freeway, some OS9 stuff I hardly ever use now, etc etc. All the important stuff I also have on the original CD's and DVD's. Plus about 35GB of photo files (already backed up manually to DVD's and my LaCie 160 D2). So do I really need to back all these up? The time saved by not doing so would be very considerable (I have 60GB on my MacHD, and it took an hour to Sandbox 9GB with shared users and app's yesterday.)
So my question is: short of uninstalling all these app's and trashing my pics (too scary), is there any way to do a partial backup, excluding them from the process?

Thanks in advance

Jim

dnanian
01-13-2006, 09:17 AM
Why would uninstalling the applications trash your pictures, Jim? I really wouldn't only back up partially... remember that it only takes time the first time through, if the files don't change, and if you want them on the original you certainly want them on the backup. Otherwise, what's the good of the backup?

Jim Stewart
01-13-2006, 09:48 AM
Hi Dave

Sorry if I've not expressed myself too well. Uninstalling apps and trashing pics were two separate possibilities for cutting the time for the initial backup. While I do want to keep backups of the pics on the ext. HD, I don't see much need to keep all the apps there when I've got the original disks as backups for the big ones.
Anyway, I guess i'll just have to bite the bullet and set the backup as an overnight task.
Do you think the time I stated for the Sandbox job was about right? (iMac G4 800, 768MB RAM)