PDA

View Full Version : Re-start from Clone?


tuni
02-06-2016, 12:41 PM
El Capitain 10.11.3 on MBPro - had some issues previously with not being able to eject my Voyager Disk. You suggested a Spotlight fix -which worked. This morning after creating this week's clone, wanted to "re-start from clone" that option is greyed out.

Does this mean we can't restart from clone anymore? Are our only options to "eject" disk, quite SD, or shut down computer?

Or, most probably I'm missing something or made some sort of error.....

Help!

As an aside, was the SD server down earlier this morning? Had a heck of a time connecting.

thanks, as always for your help, Dave.

dnanian
02-06-2016, 01:21 PM
El Capitan does not allow non-Apple applications to set the startup drive. Therefore, we have disabled those options. You can, of course, set the startup drive in the startup disk preference pane.

And yes - we had a 24-hour snow-related power failure which took Shirt Pocket out. Came back about 20 minutes or so ago.

tuni
02-06-2016, 01:35 PM
Wow- so it isn't (for a change) me. :)

Guess I will have to live with it until something changes. Really liked that option...it worked as a "test" to see if everything would work on a reboot from the clone. <sigh>

Sorry about the snow.....won't tell you how hot it is right now in Florida....However, we're supposed to get very cold Sunday night, maybe 40s...:D

dnanian
02-06-2016, 01:36 PM
Well, fortunately, you can still "test" - you just boot "manually" rather than having SD do it.

Enjoy your warmth! :)

omarkn
02-27-2016, 08:15 AM
SD 2.8 (96)

Well, fortunately, you can still "test" - you just boot "manually" rather than having SD do it.

Also related to thread: "Can't boot from El Capitan backup"

I have El-Cap on the MacHD with Yosemite on the xHD.

After setting the start-up drive in the Sys.Pref.; I still can't start up from the external drive (xHD). I get a circle with a line in it.

Should I do a "backup all files" with SD and then try again? ( I wanted to keep Yosemite for a while.)

And why should we not use Sandboxing when it states in the UG:

A Sandbox is a bootable copy of your system, stored on another hard drive
or partition, that shares your personal documents and data with the
original.

/
with best regards,
Omar K N
Stockholm, Sweden

dnanian
02-27-2016, 10:27 AM
What happens if you power off the Mac, disconnect the backup, hold down Option, power on and then, once you get to the boot menu, attach the backup drive and try to boot?