PDA

View Full Version : Sparseimage vs. Sparsebundle on NAS


Zarkov
05-21-2015, 11:40 AM
I do my backups to a Drobo NAS, and have done so for many years using a Sparseimage. After reading that a sparse bundle is preferred for users with recent OS X versions, I tried that, but it didn't work. Sparseimage still works fine. Is that a common experience, or an I doing something wrong?

dnanian
05-21-2015, 11:46 AM
Bundles require that you mount the remote with AFP that fully supports all Apple calls. SMB won't work, nor will some 3rd party AFP servers.

Zarkov
05-21-2015, 12:18 PM
Bundles require that you mount the remote with AFP that fully supports all Apple calls. SMB won't work, nor will some 3rd party AFP servers.

Thanks, Dave. You might want to add that to the user's guide.