PDA

View Full Version : files already up-to-date on reformatted disk


eangles
10-07-2012, 01:52 PM
Hello,


I had to reformat the external hard drive upon which I execute my Smart Updates. When performing a fresh initial back-up subsequently (Smart Update), SuperDuper told me 1.75GB were already up-to-date. I found that strange, reformatted and overwrote everything with zeroes, and tried again. This time, 1.54 GB (I was told) were already up-to-date.

1) Do I have anything to worry about in terms of the quality of my back-up?
2) Why is this?


Many thanks in advance

dnanian
10-07-2012, 03:11 PM
Please send your log using the "Send to shirt pocket" button w/"Error during copy" as the issue type and I'll take a look.

jimco
10-09-2012, 04:31 PM
When performing a fresh initial back-up subsequently (Smart Update), SuperDuper told me 1.75GB were already up-to-date.

Actually, I noticed the same thing after I reformatted my target volume and was cloning to it. At least initially, I think it was the same amount (1.75 GB) I assumed this "Already up-to-date" was counting the exclusions from the source volume. Not so?

Re logs, does SD throw out the old log and start fresh every session? If I needed to send you a log from a previous backup, is that possible, or would I have to reproduce the backup?

Thanks,
Jim

dnanian
10-09-2012, 04:40 PM
I get the last 10 logs from that copy you've viewed (eg manual, a schedule, etc).

But, it's likely this is due to .MobileBackups and spotlight stuff...

jimco
10-09-2012, 04:59 PM
So, not worth worrying about?

dnanian
10-09-2012, 05:19 PM
No, I wouldn't worry about it.