PDA

View Full Version : Please HELP! - Can I Use My Backup Ext HD as a Main HD?

twinkle
01-07-2012, 08:19 PM
I'm a TOTAL novice at this. I just had my iMac HD die Wednesday and am functioning at the moment off a 2 year old SimpleTech-Simple Drive (Hitachi) back-up External HD that I had last backed up on Dec 12 with SuperDuper. I am running Tiger and am in no position to get a whole new system forcing an upgrade to Lion (and thus all my other software, plus a learning curve for everything new!) I'm also in the midst of a huge job that is dependent on my computer all day!

I got the original Apple start-up CD and held down the D and ran the simple Hardware test: no trouble found; the Extended Test: no trouble found. Ran DiskUtility FirstAid Repair Disk: IHFS volume checked - no repairs necessary. After rebooting, my original internal HD is missing and only the SuperDuper is an available choice.

I ran a downloaded copy of Smart Utility from a link someone sent me and it said PASSED and showed the drive model as the same serial that is listed in my Serial ATA. But it said 'capacity: not found" and everything else was blank. If I clicked on the triangle in the left hand corner next to the words "/dev/disk1 [PASSED]" nothing appeared. In other words there is nothing inside it.

I realize eventually I will have to replace the internal HD and/or buy a new Mac, but I'm in no position to do that this moment and need to understand if I can indeed just use my current External HD as my "main" HD while backing up to a new one as the safety.

I ran to Best Buy today and bought another external HD (Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex) and am hoping that it will be possible for me to backup the backup HD I'm running on to the new Seagate. Basically copying over all my data from the current Hitachi and use the new one as a Back-Up and use the Hitachi as my actual "main HD."