PDA

View Full Version : Windows Partition


jesper
02-26-2011, 11:23 AM
I read in previous posts SD doesn't back up the windows partition but does it corrupt it? I can no longer open vm fusion to get to wnidows xp. I know I initially partitioned the hard drive using bootcamp and fat32 using 20g's on my drive.
Thanks,
Jesper

jesper
02-26-2011, 11:44 AM
to Dave.
To fix this problem, use Disk Utility to erase the drive (of course, make
sure you donít have any data on it you want to keep first), and use
Mac OS Extended (Journaled) as the format.
This is taken from your help file. Can you install vm fusion and win xp using that file format i.e Mac OS Extended?
Jesper

dnanian
02-26-2011, 12:05 PM
We don't touch any Windows volumes in any way: not to corrupt, not to copy.

But I can't see how what you're saying would "fix" anything. If you erase a drive as Mac OS Extended, then it's not formatted for Windows, and thus you can't install BootCamp on it (if that's what you're trying to do).

If you just want to install a regular VMWare "virtual" disk image, you don't need a separate partition for it, and we'll copy it - just make sure VMWare isn't running when you back up.

jesper
02-26-2011, 12:12 PM
Thanks Dave.
That's what I thought. I initially installed win xp using bootcamp before VM fusion was released.

tuni
02-26-2011, 02:06 PM
I use SD and back up everything on my iMac including my VmWare - no probs so far...:)