PDA

View Full Version : Mac Appstore and Sandbox


Rip
01-31-2011, 03:09 AM
I'm running my iMac with a Sandox that includes my applications.

The Mac Appstore, however, continues to report that I have updates to install, even though the Sandbox applications are up to date.

I'm guessing that, for some reason, the Appstore is looking at my Mac HD drive instead of the sandbox drive.

Is this a SD! issue, Appstore issue or a problem with the way I'm using my Sandbox?

dnanian
01-31-2011, 07:44 AM
The Appstore is likely not following the symlink, Rip. There's little we can do about this, although you could elect to not share applications ("Sandbox - shared users").

Rip
01-31-2011, 12:15 PM
As far as I know. I'm not sharing applications I didn't want to when setting it up), which is why I'm surprised I have the appstore problem.

The size of the sandbox would lead me to believe I'm not sharing.

How can I tell if it is sharing?

dnanian
01-31-2011, 04:22 PM
Look in the Applications folder and see if it has symlinks/aliases or applications.

Rip
01-31-2011, 04:26 PM
As I thought, they are applications - which is what I wanted.

So, for some reason the Appstore must be looking at the Mac HD.

dnanian
01-31-2011, 04:38 PM
No idea why it would be doing that, Rip. Sorry: it should be looking at the startup drive, not some other drive, but it may want to try to update *all* apps.

Rip
01-31-2011, 05:30 PM
This is now proving to be a real headache.

The appstore is reporting that my sandbox apps need updating, which they don't.

I restarted using Mac HD, instead of sandbox, to update the apps. They updated fine and it now shows everything as being up to date.

However, when I check the purchases page in the appstore it shows apps as being installed on Mac HD that aren't. They are only installed in the sandbox.

Consequently, there's no way to install them on Mac HD.

I've read the warnings about copying fromm sandbox to Mac HD but I think I'll need to do that now.

What's the best way to go about this and then junk the sandbox, as it's clearly not going to work as a useful strategy with the appstore working the way it does?

dnanian
01-31-2011, 05:35 PM
Copying back is covered in the User's Guide, too...

Rip
02-01-2011, 02:26 AM
That restore went well.

So, now can I just format the Sandbox partition? Nothing else to do?

dnanian
02-01-2011, 07:23 AM
That's it.