PDA

View Full Version : Continued difficulty quitting SD


edblanton
04-04-2010, 05:58 PM
Going on 2 years now and still have to manually quit SD when I try to "restart from SD". Still get the attached screen:

dnanian
04-04-2010, 11:40 PM
Use Onyx or Cocktail to clear your system and user caches and rebuild your Launch Services database, Ed.

edblanton
04-07-2010, 02:48 PM
Ran Onyx (I regularly run Onyx, usually after an SD backup). This time I ran it before - same results. See attachment.

This is not a deal breaker, but it is annoying because I like to test my backup drive after each backup. This snag introduces delays in the process.

Thanks for any help.

dnanian
04-07-2010, 03:19 PM
I don't know what to suggest, Ed. I can't reproduce the problem, and can only pass on what the few others, who have encountered the issue, have indicated works for them.

TMay
04-08-2010, 09:22 PM
Ed--Why don't you just manually quit SD BEFORE logging out to test your backup? Or manually quit it when it is called and appears on the screen during your log out? Obviously of course, you would have to give up restarting from within SD.

Dave--Funny, I thought this was normal behavior for SD. Mine has always (as best I can remember) done it. I log out/reboot relatively infrequently, and 95% of those times SD is not open. When it is, however, it will usually behave the same as Ed is reporting. I guess I just never considered it an issue. I have two or three other appls which also do not like to quit at reboot/log out time, and I just manually quit them (or pounce on them and quit them when they are called during the shutdown process.) I have never used the restart function within SD, but assume it would behave the same way.

dnanian
04-09-2010, 08:13 AM
When SuperDuper! gets a "script" command to quit, it'll wait up to 30 seconds past the last UI access before actually exiting (to make sure that a background script can't quit the application out from under an active user). But that would end up quitting, and what you guys are describing doesn't make much sense, on a manual backup.

I just don't know how to make it happen in a way that can be reproduced and fixed.

TMay
04-13-2010, 12:18 AM
Dave

Next few times I log out, restart or shutdown I'll make a point to have SD open and will report what happens. As I said, I never really thought of it as an issue so haven't paid much attention to it.