PDA

View Full Version : Just need to make a bootable clone of my Mac


kiwioz@mac.com
04-02-2004, 09:35 AM
Hi there

I am assuming that by using Backup all files it will back up every file on my drive and make the backup bootable.
Is that right?


What I want to be able to do is then boot from my backup and clone another computer.

Can I do that?

So then I would have 2 computer exactly the same.


Thanks for your time

Craig Laird
Melbourne

dnanian
04-02-2004, 09:46 AM
Hi, Craig -- welcome to the forums.

Yes, Backup - all files will create a bootable backup of all files on the drive, save for the ones Apple specifically says not to copy. You could then take that clone and copy to a different machine.

Note, though, that if you're using a Firewire drive to store the clone, both machines would have to be able to boot from Firewire.

Hope that helps!

kiwioz@mac.com
04-02-2004, 09:51 AM
Thanks for responding so fast.

What do you mean by

save for the ones Apple specifically says not to copy.

I would boot from the firewire drive then backup -all file to the new computer right?

dnanian
04-02-2004, 09:56 AM
Apple's "cloning" guidelines recommend excluding specific files from a full clone. These are files that wouldn't do you any good if copied, so you wouldn't notice, but I just wanted to respond "exactly" to your original question, where you said "every file".

Basically, it backs up every file of significance. Those that are skipped are skipped for a good reason, and won't affect the clone!

kiwioz@mac.com
04-02-2004, 09:58 AM
Has this been tested with 10.3.3 ie Panther?

Thanks
Craig

dnanian
04-02-2004, 10:03 AM
Yes. SuperDuper! was extensively tested with 10.3.3.

kiwioz@mac.com
04-02-2004, 10:07 AM
I will give it a go then

And thank you for responding so fast

Craig

dnanian
04-02-2004, 10:10 AM
A pleasure, Craig.

Bogie168
04-23-2004, 10:48 AM
If you can completely copy your eexisting system, how about attaching the computers via Firewire and copying directly to a parttion on the destinsation (new) system. That seems safer than erasing the disk on the new system entirely.

Make sense?

dnanian
04-23-2004, 10:51 AM
Well -- you can't create a partition on the new system without erasing the drive... unfortunately, Apple's tools don't allow partitioning on the fly.

Vertig0gitreV
04-28-2004, 02:54 PM
Hello all... this is along the same lines as the source for this post, so I thought I would put it here.

I am trying to build a bootable Restore Image (something along the lines of a Ghost image for the wIntel world). The image would be for a Dual 2ghz G5 running OSX Server 10.3.3. I have done some reading around and discovered that the best solution would be to use BootCD and CCC... the only problem is that BootCD has yet to be updated for 10.3. So... if anyone out there has the time, I would love any suggestions you might have! Thanks in advance!

dnanian
05-01-2004, 06:24 PM
Sorry it took so long for me to respond, Vertig0ritreV: vBulletin was having trouble accessing my mail server due to some changes on my end! They're fixed, though, so all should be well.

Anyway, SuperDuper! will make the image as well as CCC (if not better), but making the CD itself bootable requires magic that we haven't figured out. They've made it more difficult in 10.3.

Is the point here to make the image "magically" just restore from the CD? Or, are you trying to use a network server to "feed" the image to the client?

Vertig0gitreV
05-03-2004, 11:22 AM
Sorry it took so long for me to respond, Vertig0ritreV: vBulletin was having trouble accessing my mail server due to some changes on my end! They're fixed, though, so all should be well.

Anyway, SuperDuper! will make the image as well as CCC (if not better), but making the CD itself bootable requires magic that we haven't figured out. They've made it more difficult in 10.3.

Is the point here to make the image "magically" just restore from the CD? Or, are you trying to use a network server to "feed" the image to the client?

I am trying to put together a restore option so that "if I get hit by a truck... (their words, I kid you not)" someone will be able to rebuild the server, should it fail on the day I am recovering from my encounter with a truck. :o

dnanian
05-03-2004, 11:51 AM
Well, let's hope no truck will be involved, huh? How about a tricycle accident?

Anyway, here's the best thing to do. Create a standalone image on a removable FireWire drive with SuperDuper!, and update it on a regular basis with Smart Update.

If it becomes necessary to restore, you need only:

- Boot from the Panther install CD
- Run "Disk Utility" from the application menu of the installer
- Use the "Restore" tab to restore the volume with the image back to the original drive

That should work great for you, and won't be very difficult while you're recovering from your bruised shin.

Make some sense?

Vertig0gitreV
05-03-2004, 01:03 PM
Well, let's hope no truck will be involved, huh? How about a tricycle accident?

Anyway, here's the best thing to do. Create a standalone image on a removable FireWire drive with SuperDuper!, and update it on a regular basis with Smart Update.

If it becomes necessary to restore, you need only:

- Boot from the Panther install CD
- Run "Disk Utility" from the application menu of the installer
- Use the "Restore" tab to restore the volume with the image back to the original drive

That should work great for you, and won't be very difficult while you're recovering from your bruised shin.

Make some sense?

Thanks a lot! Would this also work if I burnt the image to a DVD-R via the super drive?

Also, will it make any difference if the image i wil be creating is from a RAID set (mirroring) of two 160GB drives?

dnanian
05-03-2004, 01:07 PM
If you can fit the image onto a DVD-R, and you have a second DVD drive to read from, yes. Remember, though, that since you're booting from the DVD drive (the Panther install disc), you can't remove the DVD from the primary drive...

Note that you can also store the DMG on an accessible web server and access it over the network (even personal web sharing will work).

Give this a try, of course, before you rely on it in production. Try booting from the Panther install CD as I indicated, and run Disk Utility from there. Check out the options available from the Restore tab... and best of luck!

Vertig0gitreV
05-04-2004, 04:12 PM
If you can fit the image onto a DVD-R, and you have a second DVD drive to read from, yes. Remember, though, that since you're booting from the DVD drive (the Panther install disc), you can't remove the DVD from the primary drive...

Note that you can also store the DMG on an accessible web server and access it over the network (even personal web sharing will work).

Give this a try, of course, before you rely on it in production. Try booting from the Panther install CD as I indicated, and run Disk Utility from there. Check out the options available from the Restore tab... and best of luck!

Is this a 1:1 ratio for space needed, or is there compression avaliable? (ie. I have a 160GB mirrored RAID array... I would need a 160GB external drive for back up)

dnanian
05-04-2004, 04:19 PM
While the image itself can be compressed at approximately 2:1, you need space to hold both images when creating it. So, if your 160GB RAID has 100GB of data, you'd probably need 150GB of space, maybe a bit more, during the backup.

Of course, you could create a sparseimage and backup into that, then do the conversion "by hand" onto an alternate volume... depends on how tolerant you are of these kinds of things.

But, for ease of use & simplicity, I'd have a 160GB external FW drive and just backup to it, then Smart Update subsequent times to ensure everything's up to date.