PDA

View Full Version : Migrating laptops using SD!


rudivd
12-05-2009, 02:37 PM
Hi all,

I'm planning to replace my current laptop (3 yr old, c2d macbookpro 2.33 GHz) with a new one (unibody mbpro, same screen size (15"). The thing is that I do not want to transfer all my data and reinstall all my applications piece by piece, and was wondering if I could, after deauthorizing some node-locad software from my old machine, do a superduper back-up of the complete disk, and put this backup on the new box.

I recon most (user) things would work, but I'm worried about the OS (Snow Leopard). The new machine might need different drivers for the hardware. I'm curious if the OS is self configuring and has all possible drivers etc (like kernel modules) available, such that the new machine just works :-)

Does anyone have experience doing this disk-cloning for different hardware ?

Rudi

dnanian
12-05-2009, 04:28 PM
I have a recommendation for how to do this in the Frequently Asked Questions section of the SuperDuper forum, Rudi, so take a look there...

fjordaan
12-11-2009, 05:50 PM
Thanks, Dave, I had the same question and your FAQ was just what I needed.

I do have a question, though: do you think it would be better to reinstall all my applications on the new Mac, and only transfer the data from the SD backup? I'm worried that if I copy the apps from the SD backup, I may also transfer any problems they may have developed.

dnanian
12-11-2009, 07:24 PM
No, I don't think that would be better.