PDA

View Full Version : Not Sure How SuperDuper Fits into This Situation

Courtney
11-16-2009, 01:42 AM
Hi!

I've been backing up with SuperDuper once a week for several years now. But I haven't really needed a backup until now, and I'm not sure how to use it.

Long story short, my macbook (snow leopard) froze, I restarted it, and now it won't go past the gray screen (it just spins and spins). I've been going by this support page:

http://support.apple.com/kb/TS2570

I've done safe mode, reset PRAM, and used disk utility which found nothing. I'm now at Archive and Install, or Erase and Install.

I realize that SuperDuper isn't responsible for mac support and I won't hold you responsible if my macbook blows up, but I was curious if I should go with Erase and Install over Archive and Install since I have a complete copy of my hard drive on an exterior drive thanks to SuperDuper.

And if the answer is Erase and Install, how exactly do I do that? Do I install a fresh OS using Snow Leopard, and then use SuperDuper? Or can I just use the SuperDuper copy and get it on my macbook somehow. Since I've never used a SuperDuper backup, I have no idea how to use it.

Again, I'm sorry I'm so confused, but any help or pointing in the right direction would be very appreciated.

dnanian
11-16-2009, 08:10 AM
Have you started up from the backup to see if it works? (Hold down Option at power on and select the backup drive.) Or, have you tried simply reinstalling Snow Leopard (you'd simply reinstall, and it should retain your applications and data), given that this sounds like an OS problem?

When you say you've "done safe mode", does that mean you were able to start up in Safe mode?

Courtney
11-16-2009, 05:13 PM
I have booted up from my superduper backup, and it worked fine. No problem.

I have tried safe mode (I'm just going down the list apple provides for trouble shooting) and it didn't work. It would get to a point and then just stop and return to the spinning circle.