PDA

View Full Version : Having a scheduling problem


RobLewis
10-15-2009, 12:10 PM
I'm trying to schedule a backup. I want SD! to
--run a script to mount the destination volume and disable Time Machine
--do a Smart Backup
--run another script to re-enable Time Machine
--unmount the destination volume.

There seems to be just one problem: When SD! starts up, it notices that the destination volume isn't mounted (because the first script hasn't run yet) and gets hung up. :(

I can think of a few possible solutions, but it seems like the most straightforward would be a new option to mount the volume before doing anything else.

Can you suggest a short-term solution and maybe consider this for a future version? It might be cool to have a command-line version of SD! so it could be called from a shell script, sort of like I'm doing with Disk Utility:
>diskutil mount MyBackupVol

dnanian
10-15-2009, 12:13 PM
It will do this when scheduled, Rob...

RobLewis
10-15-2009, 12:19 PM
It will do this when scheduled, Rob...

Well, so far I haven't seen it work. I've tried deleting and re-creating the schedule, with no success.

Comment: it would be helpful if log entries showed the date as well as the time. It would save having to scroll through a big log searching for the run date.

dnanian
10-15-2009, 12:45 PM
Log entries do show the date and time, in their title at the very least.

I don't know why your schedule wouldn't auto-mount, since it certainly should (and does here)... it won't when launching SD!, though. Perhaps turn "remember source/destination volumes" off?

RobLewis
10-15-2009, 04:40 PM
OK, are you saying that I don't need to run the pre-backup script command:
>diskutil mount MyBackupVol
?

On the logging thing: in the log I'm looking at, only the second line of the log shows the date.

If the log only shows info for the last run, I guess that's OK. But if, like most logs, it has entries for several runs, then I would vote for the date being in every line. Or at least put some blank lines between info for the various runs.

Also, I note that the "Find" command is disabled in the log. Could enabling it be put on the to do list?

dnanian
10-15-2009, 06:31 PM
Correct, no need, since on schedule we do that already. The *title* (filename) of the log has the date.

I'm not sure adding additional commands to allow the log to be searched is a high priority, but I've taken note of your request.

RobLewis
10-18-2009, 02:08 AM
Interesting: the "Scheduled Copies" window says the Last Copy was on Oct 16 (when the most recent scheduled backup should have run), but the Log window says it was Oct. 14 (which was the last manual run I did).

I'm scheduling the machine to wake up 5 minutes before the job start time. Its sleep delay is set to 15 minutes.

RobLewis
10-18-2009, 02:34 AM
OK, I just added a new scheduled backup for a few minutes in the future, and watched it work the way it's supposed to. So what's different between now and 2:30AM, when my non-working backups are supposed to happen?

Well, the computer wasn't sleeping, but as noted, I've set the machine to wake up 5 minutes before the backup.

Are there some other logs that may tell what the system was (or wasn't) doing in the wee hours?

dnanian
10-18-2009, 10:23 AM
Remember, the log for a scheduled copy is in Window > Scheduled copies, select the schedule, click "Show Log". Window > Show Log is going to show the log for the main window -- likely your last manual copy.

You should set your Mac to wake one minute before the scheduled backup...

RobLewis
10-19-2009, 02:58 AM
Um, glad you mentioned that. It appears I've been looking at the wrong log. I just assumed there would be one log that contained the history of every run.

Not sure yet, but it may have been working all along.