PDA

View Full Version : *Not* make copy bootable?


backerupper3160
10-11-2009, 05:04 PM
Is there a way to make the SD copy *not* bootable? (I want to try it this way because the clone was accessing stuff like Dropbox when I would boot up from it, I didn't want it to copy over a file with an older version accidentally; I created a separate partition on the same drive with DiskWarrior for when I need to boot from it for diagnostic/repair reasons.)

I thought this used to be an option years ago, but I didn't see that as a choice on the most current version (for SL). Also it makes it a tiny bit faster starting up when there's only one "alternate" drive to the main one.

dnanian
10-11-2009, 05:45 PM
Well, you can certainly partition the drive in a way that makes it not bootable, but otherwise, no. Startup is not faster when you have a drive attached that's not bootable vs. a bootable drive.

backerupper3160
10-11-2009, 05:51 PM
I meant that startup is faster because you don't have to choose between as many (startup) options, either on the splash screen or if choosing in the System Preferences.

dnanian
10-11-2009, 06:10 PM
Well, no: if you're starting up normally, you're given no choices - it just automatically uses the drive you've selected.

backerupper3160
10-11-2009, 06:18 PM
Yeah I know that I just meant it goes a tiny bit faster when there are fewer choices in the system preferences before you reboot if that's how you're doing it.

dnanian
10-11-2009, 06:20 PM
I guess I don't quite understand why you'd go into System Preferences to reboot unless you were trying to start up from some drive other than the current startup volume.

backerupper3160
10-11-2009, 06:25 PM
I do it that way because I can't currently change the startup sequence because I'm using a third-party (MS) keyboard. (At least that's the generic explanation I've gotten, with no workaround currently possible.)