PDA

View Full Version : SuperDuper messes up


tickedoff
10-08-2009, 06:13 PM
Posting email to the developer here as well in case someone else can help me.

Hi,

I had a full backup of my computer when I was running tiger, along with the Time Machine backups on my external HD. I ran a smart update that said it was going to keep the Time Machine backups safe when it backed up... well it didn't. It erased all my time machine backups, and even more puzzling, now when it is trying to do a full backup through Time Machine (because it thinks it's the first one because the others were deleted...) it gives an error saying there is not enough space to back up, with only 20 GB free. Wow, that's very odd considering my internal HD has 80 GB used right now, and the full backup is around 80 GB. But no, now it says 275 GB are used on the external (instead of about 140 GB used previously). How in the world?

Please tell me how to restore my Time Machine backups, as well as how to get my external HD back to normal. It should not say 275 GB are used and give an error due to not enough space when Time Machine tries to back up.

And I think I'll be switching to Carbon Copy Cloner.

Please reply asap.

Aaron

Additional details: Running latest version of superduper, OS 10.5.8, Lacie 320 GB external HD

tickedoff
10-08-2009, 07:52 PM
Verifying the disk shows some new problems (note that none of these existed before running the superduper backup):

Verifying volume “LaCie Disk”
Checking Journaled HFS Plus volume.
Checking Extents Overflow file.
Checking Catalog file.
Checking multi-linked files.
Incorrect number of file hard links
Checking Catalog hierarchy.
Checking Extended Attributes file.
Checking multi-linked directories.
Incorrect number of directory hard links
Checking volume bitmap.
Volume Bit Map needs minor repair
Checking volume information.
Invalid volume free block count
(It should be 6119108 instead of 6080060)
The volume LaCie Disk needs to be repaired.

Error: Filesystem verify or repair failed.


Developers: I highly suggest you take down the latest update before others get this problem as well. Don't know if it's just the latest update that would cause this, or some number of updates back.

dnanian
10-08-2009, 09:51 PM
This was NOT due to SuperDuper, tickedoff. We do not do anything that could affect the drive at a low level like this. Some other failure occurred...