PDA

View Full Version : Script Commands


Jimper
10-04-2009, 03:19 PM
A problem has just popped up that Iím pretty sure has never happened before.

I wanted to back up one of my volumes, leaving out a couple of folders. When I tried to make a custom script and went to Script Commands, however, the only files listed in the left-hand column were those on my start-up drive, not those on the source volume indicated in the script.

Iíve checked my other custom scripts, and itís the same in every case.

Is there some way to navigate to the source volume or is it Snow Leopard?

dnanian
10-04-2009, 03:25 PM
Yes, start at Volumes, then go to the drive, then down through the folders...

diamondsw
10-05-2009, 01:50 AM
Yes, start at Volumes, then go to the drive, then down through the folders...

If Volumes is not showing up in the list, it may have been made invisible (I had this happen when an old version of SheepShaver did some very not-nice things to my drive via some very not-nice default settings). If you're not seeing Volumes at he bottom of the list, try this:

sudo chflags nohidden /Volumes

Although lower priority than other issues, I've suggested before that the Script Commands file hierarchy really should only show the volume in question - not everyone knows how Mac OS X mounts volumes "under the hood".

Jimper
10-05-2009, 12:47 PM
Many thanks to all!

Yes, Volumes was at the bottom of the left-hand column, but because it was in the same typeface as the contents of my startup disc, I hadn't noticed it.

Everything is now in order!