PDA

View Full Version : Smart Update & Disk Warrior?


nkhester
09-11-2009, 07:32 AM
Attempting to "smart update" a backup of 10.6.1 to ED containing 10.6.0 seemed to take an exorbitant amount of time. I also noted in the cited progress statistics that nearly every file read was being replaced!

Could the fact that I had earlier run Disk Warrior on both volumes have caused this near-wholesale replacement of files?

Anyway... after about 10 minutes of slow progress, I stopped the operation. SD was restarted, and I chose erase and backup anew. This worked as expected... and the back up with 10.6.1 boots with no problem.

Was my experience with Smart Update inherent in the new SD, or was it a result of having run Disk Warrior?

dnanian
09-11-2009, 07:58 AM
It's possible that Disk Warrior changed some file/folder attributes that caused the files to miscompare: we're aware of about 4GB of 'recopying' that's done, but not "every file"...

nkhester
09-11-2009, 08:55 AM
It's possible that Disk Warrior changed some file/folder attributes that caused the files to miscompare: we're aware of about 4GB of 'recopying' that's done, but not "every file"...

Well... to be fair, I actually said "nearly every file"! And that may have been a bit of hyperbole. What I noticed is that approximately 80% were being rewritten. However, I stopped the process long before 4GB... so, I don't know if that would have been the extent of it.

Anyway... as long as you're aware that some anomaly exists, I'll wait patiently for any update!

dnanian
09-11-2009, 12:02 PM
OK, please let the copy complete and see how much of the data is really copied...

nkhester
09-11-2009, 03:26 PM
OK, please let the copy complete and see how much of the data is really copied...

If that would provide useful information, I'll start a smart update when I go to bed tonight. What data would you like in the morning?

dnanian
09-11-2009, 07:37 PM
The whole log, send with the "Send to shirt pocket" button. Use "Error during copy" as the issue type.

nkhester
09-12-2009, 05:53 AM
The whole log, send with the "Send to shirt pocket" button. Use "Error during copy" as the issue type.

When the log is ready to be sent, I'm confronted with this statement:

You can not submit a support request without a valid e-mail address. Please enter your email address in Address Book or create an e-mail account in Mail and try again.

I have no idea what it expects me to do. I have a valid mail account...

dnanian
09-12-2009, 08:26 AM
You have Apple Mail configured and you've entered the proper email address in Address Book in your "Me" card?

nkhester
09-12-2009, 08:53 AM
You have Apple Mail configured and you've entered the proper email address in Address Book in your "Me" card?

I'm not using Apple Mail. I'm using the Mail program in OS X and it is a "gmail" account via my ISP. I see no "Me" card in address book. My name and address are in my address book... and just for good measure, I've just added my name as it appears in this forum: still no luck!

dnanian
09-12-2009, 09:01 AM
Apple Mail is the Mail program in OS X. :)

In your address book, check to see that your card in Address Book is set as your Me card (in the Card menu - "Make This My Card").

nkhester
09-12-2009, 09:19 AM
Apple Mail is the Mail program in OS X. :)

In your address book, check to see that your card in Address Book is set as your Me card (in the Card menu - "Make This My Card").

How could I have survived this long without having been confronted before with the "Me Card" thingy?

Anyway... the log has now been sent!

dnanian
09-12-2009, 09:34 AM
Great, thanks. Note: we're in the middle of a power failure here and I'm going to have to shut down Shirt Pocket until it's fixed (almost out of UPS)... will be back!

nkhester
10-17-2010, 04:02 PM
Ah... A little more than a year has passed, and I had completely forgotten about this thread!

However, I am now at the point where I'd like to use SetUp/Migration Assistant to copy a SuperDuper clone of my current machine to a pristine new iMac.

My question goes back to whether there would be any advantage to running DiskWarrior (or TTP5.0.6) on the SD clone before transfer.

Also... Is there a procedure whereby I can make a SuperDuper clone of the new iMac prior to setup?

dnanian
10-17-2010, 04:06 PM
No real advantage I can think of, but it certainly can't hurt anything.

There's no real reason to copy the iMac first, since the DVDs that come with it reinstall everything that comes on it for you...

Cow
12-28-2011, 05:39 PM
I ran Diskwarrior on my MacBook Pro running Mac OS 10.6.8 - I didn't find any issues, but I replaced the directory anyway.

Right afterwards I attempted to Smart Update a previously made DMG sparse bundle clone of the MacBook Pro and SuperDuper got stuck while attempting to perform the Smart Update.

I've been able to Smart Update the DMG clone without issue until I ran Diskwarrior on the laptop. Come to think of it, I've never run Diskwarrior right before performing a SuperDuper Smart Update before either.

When I tried to stop the process, my Finder crashed and wouldn't restart. Also SuperDuper wouldn't stop and when I quit it it said it would leave the clone in an unknown state. I was finally forced to hold down the power button to shut down the computer.

Lesson learned. I will never run Diskwarrior on my computer right before attempting to Smart Update a SuperDuper clone of it.

I found this thread and figured I would chime in so others become aware of this potential issue. I'm now going to create a new clone since I figure there's a good chance my current clone is damaged.

:eek:

dnanian
12-28-2011, 06:09 PM
This problem sounds more like a drive lockup/failure than some sort of issue of running DW and then SD - it's more coincidence than anything else.

Cow
12-30-2011, 02:33 AM
This problem sounds more like a drive lockup/failure than some sort of issue of running DW and then SD - it's more coincidence than anything else.

I would normally agree with that but my system is rock solid and so is SuperDuper cloning. This was only the second time in almost a year that I've been forced to shut down my laptop (the other incident was unrelated).

This has never happened before performing a smart update and I've been using SuperDuper for many, many years.

This was the first time I've ever run Diskwarrior before performing a smart update. It was the only factor that was different before this highly unusual event.

I rebuilt the clone from scratch and no issues. Could it be it was just stuck temporarily and I just should have waited it out?

Also, I'm seeing others mention issues where files are changed with Diskwarrior so it takes longer for them as well afterwards. So it seems running Diskwarrior does seem to affect clones.

I'm using Diskwarrior version 4.4 by the way. Perhaps something has changed with this version of DW.

dnanian
12-30-2011, 07:58 AM
Disk Warrior may change files, which would - of course - cause those files to be copied. But there's a big difference between having your system lock up as described and copying files.

If your system is locking up there's a low level problem. Patience won't 'fix' it (unless you're waiting for an I/O timeout, again, due to hardware problems).

But, again, this is more correlation than anything else. SuperDuper! is simply copying files...if the hardware or software environment those files are being copied in is unstable, or 'locks up', it will look like SuperDuper! "caused" it (because, after all, we're running), but these high level operations (eg "Copy file a from drive I to drive II") are really performed by the OS, and the lockups are happening at a very low level...

Cow
12-30-2011, 05:15 PM
hardware or software environment those files are being copied in is unstable

That's the thing. The hardware/software environment is stable. Zero crashes copying files or doing anything else for that matter. Zero crashes doing many multiple smart updates going on almost a year straight. The ONE time I run DW 4.4 on the laptop right before smart updating the same dmg clone and this stall happens.

this is more correlation than anything else. SuperDuper! is simply copying files...if the hardware or software environment those files are being copied in is unstable, or 'locks up', it will look like SuperDuper! "caused" it (because, after all, we're running), but these high level operations (eg "Copy file a from drive I to drive II") are really performed by the OS, and the lockups are happening at a very low level...

Then why didn't it stall again while rebuilding the clone if there's an issue with the drive? I do understand that correlation doesn't equal causation. But, this will be the first and last time I ever run Diskwarrior on my computer right before smart updating a clone, that's for sure.

If my computer was already having issues beforehand or afterwards, I wouldn't be looking at this. But there's literally been no other issues with anything (including SuperDuper) until I ran Diskwarrior right before that attempt at a Smart Update.

That said, maybe it was some bizarre, temporary glitch in my high-end FireWire 800 G-Drive Mini that has never happened before (and is fine afterwards as well). I just find it strange that others have had issues with Smart Update and Diskwarrior as well.

Welp, thanks for the replies though. :)

dnanian
12-30-2011, 05:28 PM
I don't know of any issues that DW has with hardware, nor any issues or possible interference it might have with SD (that it wouldn't otherwise have with the system, since we're using the system to copy the files)... if I could point you at something known, I will. I just can't see how the two events could be related at all.