PDA

View Full Version : Taking a long time...


DiscoNomad
09-02-2009, 12:09 AM
Okay I just bought SuperDuper to replace Apple BackUp which stopped working properly after switching to Snow Leopard. I am backing up an entire hard drive worth of information which is not my booting drive...just data...to my destination which is the Ready NAS. My source is 739.01 GB in size and my destination is a sparse bundle on a 2 TB NAS share that is mounted to my computer. It is taking very long and is only transferring at around 4 MB per second. Its been at it for 10 hours now and well as you can see from the screen shot is less then a quarter through it. Is this normal? Am I doing everything correctly? Should I change anything?

Thanks for your help. I hope this will become my permanent back up solution. 143

dnanian
09-02-2009, 08:39 AM
Well, you could use an iSCSI target, rather than an image, and that would be significantly faster... on a (fast) ReadyNAS (e.g. Pro) I get about 4-6MB/s to an image or so (first time through), FW400/800 speeds with iSCSI.

DiscoNomad
09-02-2009, 11:40 AM
Well my NAS is in the server room so I guess I can only use the ethernet to connect to it. Oh well at least it seems normal. But settings wise I'm okay?

dnanian
09-02-2009, 02:30 PM
iSCSI is over the NAS: it's a simulated disk target using ethernet rather than FW/USB/etc as the transport. Looks like a local drive, but it's hosted on the NAS.