PDA

View Full Version : Not enough space...


veganjustice
08-05-2009, 03:17 PM
Okay, I have a TB internal that I am trying to back up to a 500gb external, I have a little over 650gb used on the internal, so there are a few folders that I am fine with not having transfer over, I added up the files I wouldn't be transfering, and it comes to less than the 465 or whatever is left on the external, erased backed up, and the folders I thought I was "ignoring" keep copying over.

I guess I am doing it wrong, because it hits the 465gb spot, and it stops because of lack of space, on a file I thought I was ignoring.

I first tried just adding the folder, that didn't work, so each individual file within the folder. How can I choose so the contents in folders won't copy over.

I was choosing "edit Selected copy script" and choosing ignore whichever folder/file I didn't need. But that isn't working.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

dnanian
08-05-2009, 04:19 PM
Have you reviewed the section of the User's Guide that specifically deals with this - "Excluding files and folders form a backup"?

veganjustice
08-09-2009, 05:14 AM
I thought I did, and when I was doing it, I thought I was doing it right.

I'll go ahead and re-read it and try once more. Sitting and waiting it to hit that 465gb mark takes forever just to have it fail again. Lol...

I'll give it another go.

Thanks for the reply

NathanWest
08-10-2009, 11:34 AM
You do know that a 500GB drive is actually only 465 formatted gigabytes or thereabouts?
Your 1TB is only about 938 I think.

Nick
08-10-2009, 11:40 AM
You do know that a 500GB drive is actually only 465 formatted gigabytes or thereabouts?
Your 1TB is only about 938 I think.

You do know that the approximately 7% difference has practically nothing to do with "formatting," right?